We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A-M-A-Z-I-N-G” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Pancake Haus

Magnolia Pancake Haus
606 Embassy Oaks, San Antonio, TX 78216
(210) 496-0828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 3,892 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A-M-A-Z-I-N-G”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Okay, this place is better than the hype.
Believe everything good you hear!!!!
Be sure to try to "haus" originals, like the Southern Bennie. My husband stole half of it, because it was so good. We ordered the Munchener Apfel Pfannekuchen as an appetizer, which worked out nicely.
TIP #1:
We went to the nearby arcade and bowling alley after we checked in and they texted us when our table was ready.
TIP #2:
Sign up for their online newsletter before you go and they will upgrade your pancake order to a deluxe pancake order, free of charge!
TIP #3:
Don't send your kids into the restroom alone without showing them how to use the automatic toilet seat contraption. It may cause your five year old to have a panic attack and start banging on the door to get out. *LOL*

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    114
    50
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worth the long wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

A local legendary place, made busier by having been a tv show feature, but it was worth it. Corned beef hash is strong, and the pancakes are also very good. Clean place with wonderful wait staff working hard to get dishes out timely. Bonus point for giving you a text when you're 5 minutes from being seated you you can go somewhere and do something without risk of losing your spot.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service and Awesome Omelettes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Came here in search of a good pancake house to rival that of another from the greater Philadelphia region. While I can't say the pancakes are as good, the omelette was fantastic and our waiter was extremely accommodating. Service was fast considering the line outside and may be bringing a friend in April.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent pancakes!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The pancakes were excellent! Definitely worth checking out if you are in the area! The quality of the food was amazing, you could tell that everything was fresh and homemade!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“amazing selection and quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had breakfast here on a Saturday morning and had to wait about 45 min for a table but boy was it worth it. They have some really good menu choices including some unique versions of eggs benedict and really good takes on hash as well. Their pancakes are great and the apfel pfannekuchen was amazing not to mention huge. I would go back here anytime I got the chance!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Pancake Haus also viewed

 

Been to Magnolia Pancake Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Pancake Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.