We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and food quality is not there anymore” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
4711 NW Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78229 (Northwest Side)
(210) 523-1010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,158 of 3,892 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Service and food quality is not there anymore”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We have Been going to this restaurant for over five years because of their excellent seafood selection, freshness and taste. This good experience ended with our last visit, I don't know which one was worst; the service or the food. It took for ever to get someone to serve us and to bring in the drinks and take our food order. When the food finally came out it looked like if someone had just splashed the mash potatoes on the plate and the fish was tasteless and gummy. Never, ever again would we go back to this restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    10
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Joe's on the River Walk in San Antonio Texas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you are a Joe's fan, then skip this one. We've always eaten at the Joe's in Pearland, Tx and Branson, MS. The one on the riverwalk in San Antonio was the first time being dissatisfied. Food portions were ANEMIC and just not up to normal standards. My steam pot - she opened the lid and said "TADAAA" and neither of us could see the food until it was on the table. It hardly filled the bowl inside the steam pot. Just didn't taste as good either. We were starving and it was crowded so we ate, but honestly it wasn't anymore rewarding than fast food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Get the hurricane!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Good is great! Service isn't the best, but a good hurricane makes up for it!!! Try a steam pot. I like the raging Cajun.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Metric ton of seafood at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What's to say? It's a Joe's Crab Shack - buckets of seafood, sausage, corn, and potatoes; strong drinks; and plastic bibs. Prices seemed similar to other JCSs we've been to (the classic sampler for two is a decent deal at about $45) and the location is great. If you can walk to your hotel, I highly recommend two or three Category 5 Hurricanes - they will alter your mood quickly and effectively. Just be careful - the Riverwalk has almost no guard rails (but the water is only 3-5 feet deep).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It was fine, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Joe's is Joe's, whether you are in San Diego or San Antonio. We had our first lunch in San Antonio there. The usual fish food. Service was pretty good, nice view of the River Walk.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.