We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Metric ton of seafood at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
4711 NW Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78229 (Northwest Side)
(210) 523-1010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,148 of 3,892 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Metric ton of seafood at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What's to say? It's a Joe's Crab Shack - buckets of seafood, sausage, corn, and potatoes; strong drinks; and plastic bibs. Prices seemed similar to other JCSs we've been to (the classic sampler for two is a decent deal at about $45) and the location is great. If you can walk to your hotel, I highly recommend two or three Category 5 Hurricanes - they will alter your mood quickly and effectively. Just be careful - the Riverwalk has almost no guard rails (but the water is only 3-5 feet deep).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    10
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It was fine, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Joe's is Joe's, whether you are in San Diego or San Antonio. We had our first lunch in San Antonio there. The usual fish food. Service was pretty good, nice view of the River Walk.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribou, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent tatse, good service. Smaller portions than I anticipated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Corn was overcooked and so was one of the 3 king crab legs. Probably wont go back but it was still a decent meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Over-Rated Seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I ordered one of their signature Seafood Buckets and did not enjoy as much as I was hoping. The corn was soggy, and seafood seemed overcooked. I would not recommend it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor service - overpriced bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Joes always disappoints. Went because someone gave us a gift card. We had to ask for Silverware. Waiter was too busy and thought he could make up for bad service with "mind-less banter"

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.