We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mint Juleps to the smooth sounds of Jazz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Landing - CLOSED

The Landing
123 Losoya St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2607 (Downtown)
210-223-7266
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Mint Juleps to the smooth sounds of Jazz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I spent an anniversary weekend at San Antonio. Both nights, we chose to stroll along the river, choose a restaurant for dinner, and then whiled away an hour or two at The Landing, drinking mint juleps and listening to live jazz.

There are two parts to The Landing -- an inside, air-conditioned part with the Jim Cullum Jazz Band playing sets against the backdrop of huge glass windows looking into the foyer of the Hyatt Regency. The other part, the Landing's Riverview Patio, is outside along the river. I only went inside to use the restroom, and while I liked that it was colder because of the a/c, the trombone-guy outside was so awesome and friendly, and the atmosphere so laid back, I much preferred being there.

I didn't have any food, having just filled up at one of the other restaurants nearby, but the friendly staff, jokey MC, and great jazz music made it a place to seek out and to hang out. Highly recommended for couples!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great amosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We didn't eat, but simply sat at a riverside table and had cocktails, listened to the live music and enjoyed the sights. The music was very good, and just the right volume; you could hear it, but still have a conversation without having to yell. It is at a particularly busy bend in the river, so there is a lot of people watching to do as well. It was a very enjoyable rest stop on our Riverwalk tour.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Don't Bother - no food, Music ok”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We visited The Landing on a recent trip and was expecting a typical "Jazz Cafe" eve, having been told that we will need to book as it is very popular.

The food & Drinks - Most of the items on the "Very limited Menu" were not available - the best they could offer were battered mushrooms, also the drinks were of a poor quality. The also had a $10 cover charge per person for the music.

The Jazz was acceptable but rather boring after an hour of the same tempo etc. I would not return

  • Visited April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The Landing was full of disappointments”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

While in San Antonio for a long weekend, we stopped at The Landing on a Monday evening. We chose it because of the places along the Riverwalk, it was the only one we saw featuring live jazz music. We just hoped for appetizers, a couple drinks and some great atmosphere. None of these came through. The waitress told us she'd be out to clean a table for us, so we stood and waited as the music played on. Then, as she cleaned off our table, the musicians wrapped up their set and ended for the evening. This was at 9:00--early in my opinion. (The Riverwalk was bustling with visitors for the Women's NCAA championship games.) Our waitress saw that we were disappointed, and she apologized. Nonetheless, my husband and I picked 2 appetizers from the limited menu that we each thought we would enjoy. Upon her return, our waitress asked if we wanted to order food, and informed us that they were out of BOTH of the appetizers we wanted. She apologized again, and she voiced her own disappointment with the establishment. So....drinks. We each ordered mojitos and crossed our fingers. They came, along with the 3rd disappointment for this place--no limes. They substituted a lemon SLICE for the lime JUICE that should have been in our drinks and it just wasn't great. Our waitress was very nice and friendly, and she even gave us our drinks 1/2 price to compensate. It's a shame she had to spend her evening apologizing for the restaurant's failings.

    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

I was really excited about going to The Landing to listen to Jazz music, but I was very disappointed in the place. First of all, it was good thing we had had dinner before going over to The Landing because their kitchen is no longer open. Also, the place was filthy, it needed to be vacuumed and the tables needed to be cleaned. The music okay but I grew tired of it pretty quickly.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Landing also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.