We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish and river views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
212 College St Ste 100, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)
1-210-271-9981
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #707 of 4,140 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
510 reviews 510 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and river views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Good Southern style fish cooking at chain restaurant Joe's branch in San Antonio on the Riverwalk. Portions a bit big for lunch. Fish very fresh and tasty. Service a bit slow, although probably not to San Antonio standards, where the pace generally is not too fast. Good seating possible viewing the River and the many tourists walking by.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    52
    39
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, Massachusetts
1 review
“Very good experience as first-timers at Joe's!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

A fun atmosphere/decor and a pleasant greeting at the door were our first impressions. As New Englanders, we're pretty picky about seafood. We were pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed dinner at Joe's Crabshack on the Riverwalk! Chris, our server, was very nice and attentive. The Fried Calamari appetizer was really flavorful and tender, and equally good were the Sam Adams Beer battered Fish 'n' Chips and KJ's Steampot (with the possible exception of the overlooked corn on the cob, but that usually happens in restaurants). This amounted to plenty of food for both of us to share & no room left for dessert. We liked it and we'd definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor excuse for a Joes Crabshack”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

For the cost of the meal you would expect quality food & portion size & service but your not going to get that here.... ive eaten at the Joes is San Francisco, Ca & Sacramento, Ca & now I undrstand why there was no wait to be seated... I got two small red potatoes that were water logged & flavorless crab here last night... & I tried to find the waitress so I could pay & she was just never anywhere to be found... if your thinking about going here think again there are many other choices on the riverwalk with better food & service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great break from the heat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were only in SA for 2.5 days and went to Joe's 3 times - All 3 times we sat at the bar - had the best app's & coldest beer on the Riverwalk - the staff was great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I normally avoid chains, but we were in the need of food with a fairly good turn around. We ate at the bar, service was very good the food was not. I have been to a Joe's before but in my own backyard. I will have to concur with another reviewer that the food was the disappointing part. The crab legs were "ok" I had to ask for butter. And if you are going to serve boiled potatoes they need to be cooked a the way through, they were hard as a rock. Since the potatoes are included in basically all the meals, you would think they could could them properly. The corn on the cob was fine. Personally this was not worth $25 I paid for this meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.