We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food on the River Walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana

Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana
421 E Commerce St, Ste B, San Antonio, TX 78205-2815 (Downtown)
+1 210-226-8462
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,501 of 3,892 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: This is where the San Antonio River Walk turns up the heat on Mexican food. Whether it's breakfast, lunch, dinner or late-night tacos, Rio Rio Cantina will indulge your cravings with a fiesta of flavors. Our fresh Tex-Mex recipes with ingredients from farm-to-table and our homemade flour tortillas bring the taste of Mexico across the border to you. Happy Hour daily 3 - 6 p.M. And 9 p.M. - 11 P.M.
Saraland, Alabama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Food on the River Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

If you find yourself on the river walk hungry, don't be afraid to try Rio Rio. The margaritas were good and the chips and salsa were good. Lunch selections my wife and I made were tasty and well prepared with nice portions. Our experience was good and uneventful. Sometimes that is a good thing.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Donald,
Thanks for the positive feedback. We are glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed our margaritas and other menu items. Please stop by again in the near future. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    73
    127
    115
    117
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ugh. May as well go to Disneyland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Wow. Over the top touristy. Enormous margaritas with bad tequila & sub-par food. Annoying from beginning to end. Don't waste your money - get off the main drag!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We apologize for your less than extraordinary experience as our guest. We pride ourselves on offering outstanding customer service and satisfaction and that does not appear to be the case with your most recent visit. We would like for you to return again in the near future and we’d also like to obtain more information from you regarding your visit. To further discuss this review, please take the time to reach out to John at cantinariorio@gmail.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing Across the Board”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were tired, wanted lunch, and thought this restaurant was supposed to be one of the better choices on the Riverwalk. We wish we had kept walking and made it to our historic favorite Mexican restaurant. We were a little concerned about cleanliness at the outside table. The service was extremely lethargic so we should have walked. Everything we ordered was either okay or disappointing as was the entire experience. Based on this experience, we have to give a harsh rating of poor when comparing with other Riverwalk choices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
It is disheartening to hear that you received less than extraordinary service as our guest. First impressions are extremely important to us and it is unacceptable to hear that you did not receive outstanding service during your visit. We would like for you to return again in the future and to hopefully become one of our regular customers. To further discuss this review, please take the time to reach out to John at cantinariorio@gmail.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Is that my guac or a salad?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We went here because of an article we read suggesting the guacamole. Stopped in for lunch and after waiting at our table for a very long time for our waiter to acknowledge us, we ordered some margaritas and guacamole. The happy hour margaritas came in a wine glass! Then came the "fresh" guacamole in a ramekin! Not only was the appetizer extremely small it was served on shredded, wilted lettuce with an olive on top! Unfortunately, we didn't leave. We ordered shrimp street table tacos. Extremely greasy with less than 1 fried piece of breaded shrimp chopped in each one...some still with shells! Very disappointed. Will Never go back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
It is completely unacceptable to hear that you had to wait an extensive amount of time before getting served. It can get very busy here, however, that is not an excuse for not receiving service in a timely manner. We apologize for not providing you with excellent customer service and satisfaction. We pride ourselves on serving outstanding food and we extend our apologies for falling short of those expectations. To further discuss this review, please take the time to reach out to John at cantinariorio@gmail.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Overpriced mediocre food & device”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We sat down at the wrong place.
Realized it too late
Previous reviews were correct
I am so sorry we wasted one of our days for lunch here
Thank goodness I researched dinners thoroughly

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Jenny,
We are truly sorry for your less than satisfactory experience as our guest. We would like to obtain more information from you regarding your visit so we can correct these mistakes. Please take the time to reach out to John to further discuss this review at cantinariorio@gmail.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana also viewed

 

Been to Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.