We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced mediocre food & device” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana

Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana
421 E Commerce St, Ste B, San Antonio, TX 78205-2815 (Downtown)
210-226-8462
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,631 of 4,141 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Overpriced mediocre food & device”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We sat down at the wrong place.
Realized it too late
Previous reviews were correct
I am so sorry we wasted one of our days for lunch here
Thank goodness I researched dinners thoroughly

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Jenny,
We are truly sorry for your less than satisfactory experience as our guest. We would like to obtain more information from you regarding your visit so we can correct these mistakes. Please take the time to reach out to John to further discuss this review at cantinariorio@gmail.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    62
    115
    101
    109
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Bad food bad service and expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The only good thing is that is in the river, but there are plenty of other restaurants.
The food was bad and cold
The service slow and I had to walk to them to ask for water
And the price expensive for what it is
Nothing worth

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We apologize for your less than satisfactory experience as our guest. The service and food that you experienced is not on par with the high expectations that we hold ourselves to. We extend our sincerest apology to you and we’d like to make this situation up to you. Please take the time to reach out to John at cantinariorio@gmail.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanAntonio TX
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had poor service , cold food and scanty portions. You can do better on the riverwalk. The server brought our food out and left it sitting outside by the stairs for several minutes. Then he proceeded to serve us the food that sat out while strings of strangers walked over it. The re fried beans were so cold they were cracked. We were also served quest that was solid in the bowl. I ordered shrimp tacos that had about one diced shrimp in each tortilla. There were more onions than shrimp ! Don't waste your time or money there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We apologize for the less than extraordinary services you received during your recent visit. The situation you've described with your server is not on par with the excellent customer service and satisfaction that we aim to provide. We would like for you to return again to try some of our other menu items. Please contact John at cantinariorio@gmail.com beforehand when you decide to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, NM
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“In business only because tourists don't know how bad it is”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

One of the top destinations for San Antonio is the river walk. On the official brochure there was a coupon for Rio Rio- one free queso dip. So when we happened upon it at the end of our walk, we decided "Why not?". If I had access to trip advisor I would have known. Considering the mexican food is really cheap the prices were enormous. (location,location,location). The service was slow, wrong, and the food was lukewarm. The straw in my drink had stuff stuck to it, I had to go to the bar since I couldn't find the waiter, when I got back with two unwrapped straws, I found my mom's drink had something floating in it. So back to the bar. There are dozens of restaurants downtown, and 4200 in the city, so don't go here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Kevin,
The situation you've described is not on par with the high standards that we hold ourselves to. From what you've explained, it does not appear that you received the desired service that we strive to provide. We apologize for the poor service that you received. We would like for you to return again next time you’re on the River Walk. If you would like to further discuss this review, please take the time to reach out to John at cantinariorio@gmail.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and seating along the River Walk.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Good food and excellent service in a very crowded atmosphere. Reasonably priced entrees. Angelica was very helpful with pictures and seating. Jose was also helpful with menu selections as well as providing good service. Fun atmosphere along the River Walk.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Jane,
Thank you very much for the 5 star rating. We appreciate it when our satisfied guests take the time to share their positive experience. Thank you for the compliments on our staff and ambiance. Please stop by again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana also viewed

 

Been to Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.