We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a wonderful discovery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sorrento Ristorante and Pizza

Sorrento Ristorante and Pizza
5146 Broadway St, San Antonio, TX 78209-5710 (Alamo Heights)
(210) 824-0055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 4,136 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Neighborhood: Alamo Heights
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“what a wonderful discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were looking for a good local restaurant on our way to the zoo.....what a wonderful discovery in Sorrento. You know it's going to be good when a Mama figure greets you warmly at the door. We ordered pizza only - and it was by far the best pizza I have had in Texas. Wonderful blends of cheese and sauce, great atmosphere, and super friendly service. The checkered tableclothes are covered with family photos, letters of recommendation, and newspaper clippings. This place was voted Best Italian food in San Antonio for a reason. It is truly the BEST. Easy to find, fairly convenient to the zoo, and the food is worth the trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
611 reviews 611 reviews
436 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
512 helpful votes 512 helpful votes
“This Dish is a Good Measure for an Italian Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stopped by for a late lunch on a Thursday.
The pizza here is top notch and we enjoyed it before. This day we
wanted to check out their regular menu.
I ordered Spaghetti with meat balls and my DW had the chicken Sorrento.
The chicken was not very flavorful and it was watery. The lemon butter pasta
arrived without any lemon butter.
My Spaghetti with meat balls came with one meat ball. That's the lunch portion according to our server. The sauce was too thin and did not taste good.

For $10 an entree without any salad is not impressive.
The Italian bread is average at best, not notwworthy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very Authentic ItaloAmerican Feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I really liked this place, don't let the exclusive zip code deter you from visiting, the place has all kinds of people and is very warm and open to everybody. I only get the pizza but it is so good, perfect sauce, cheese, bread, everything, classic "New York" style. It's a family run business and you can feel that love goes into the food.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texasgirl-98
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Favorite Italian in San Antonio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We are always pleased with our meal at Sorrento! The best item on the menu is the lasagna della casa (not just the regular lasagna). I never order lasagna, but tried and friend's meal several years ago and it was phenomenal! Now it's the only thing I order! My two year old son loves it as well. Great atmosphere too. Very family friendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Small, but very good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This place is a local favorite. The staff is exceptional. My wife and I have come in 30 minutes before close and the staff has bent over backward for us. We are a fan of the Special Pizza~ everything~ and the calamari spaghetti, but we have tried much of their menu and have been pleased with everything. This is nice little local cafe with outside seating.

My true measure of a place was met when we walked in for the first time and 2 large groups were having their birthday dinners there. This place is in a very wealthy area and the patrons could afford to go anywhere. If youre not from here, it's worth a try.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrento Ristorante and Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Sorrento Ristorante and Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorrento Ristorante and Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.