We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to celebrate birthdays!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Time Machine

Magic Time Machine
902 NE Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78209-1401 (Oak Park / Northwood)
210-828-1470
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #633 of 4,197 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Oak Park / Northwood
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to celebrate birthdays!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our waitress was Velma from Scooby Doo and she rocked! Made it such a fun night for my daughter's birthday.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    33
    42
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We love MTM because it is FUN, the food is good, though not outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is our second year in a row going for my daughter's birthday, and she still loves the birthday rap ;) The food is really good, though I can't honestly say the best I've had

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic National Park, Washington
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Filthy, expensive and just darn tacky”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place probably needs to be shut down by health authorities. The concept was cute in 1975 but now it is just plain nasty. The waiters have confused wit with sarcasm and crass behavior. The place is so dirty, I am amazed it even passes a health inspection. Yuck, wanted to cover myself in hand sanitizer when we left the dump.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Cute concept..kids (and kids at heart) have a blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Your servers are dressed up like movie or storybook characters. Our server was one of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Also, Captain Jack Sparrow, Nacho Libre and GI Joe were servers. The food was very flavorful. We didn't have to wait very long for our orders. It was an all around good experience and the kids had a blast!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cute concept, but very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went to this restaurant with a group of 14 people, including our 2-year-old son. The waiters were all dressed up as movie characters, which was a cute concept, and my son loved the restaurant's wacky decorations. However, that is where the positive experience ended. It took more than an hour before we ordered food, and it took at least 30 minutes just to get our drinks. Our toddler received a "magic potion drink" that he loved, but who knows what was in it, as it made him act completely crazy for the rest of the night. The food was overpriced and just average. We had a newborn baby in our group and needed some lukewarm water to make a bottle, and we had to ask several people before someone could accommodate our request. We would not go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Time Machine also viewed

 

Been to Magic Time Machine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Time Machine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.