We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have lots of potential here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paloma Blanca Mexican Restaurant & Catering

Paloma Blanca Mexican Restaurant & Catering
5800 Broadway St, San Antonio, TX 78209-5265 (Alamo Heights)
(210) 822-6151
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Paloma Blanca Mexican Restaurant & Catering is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #121 of 4,137 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Alamo Heights
Cross street: Austin Highway
Description: Since 1997, Paloma Blanca Mexican Cuisine has become well-known for offering much more than traditional "Tex-Mex" fare. Tempting offerings include items as varied as grilled snapper, enchiladas verdes, pozole soup, hand made flautas and tacos al pastor. For margaritas by a cool fountain, a relaxing dinner on the terrace or appetizers in our hacienda-style dining rooms, Paloma Blanca invites you to enjoy our autentico brand of Mexican cuisine and hospitality.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
610 reviews 610 reviews
435 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
510 helpful votes 510 helpful votes
“They have lots of potential here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had evening dinner here with our grandson age 7.
Our server was very friendly.
The margaritas were delicious, and the chips and salsa very tasty.

The El Exclusivo was not. It's a $13 combo plate with a flauta, a quesadilla, and a cheese enchilada.
The enchilada was good, but I did not like the rest.
My grandson is a picky eater. La Paloma is not really kid friendly. All their children;s items are A la carte. Rice is $2.99 etc so a chicken taco, rice and beans plus drink was $11.
It was a good lesson. Next time we'll share with the grandkids from our plate.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    39
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of my favorites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

If you are looking for good mexican food in the Alamo Heights area, I recommend this place. Very "San Antonio" decor. A little hard to find if you don't know where you are going. Tex-Mex fix!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Great service. Nice ambiance with a very good regular Spanish guitarist "Jose"

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had a mini reunion of old friends at this restaurant at noon, and the staff really outdid themselves. More people showed than expected, and they managed to accomodate a large group. Everytime I turned around, a fresh glass of diet coke appeared before me. They managed to serve the large crowd promptly and the food was delicious. I've had the excellent chicken fajitas before, so this time I tried the Ensalada Esperanza, a delightful mix of greens with chicken and sprinkles of white cheese. A nice cilantro lime dressing on the side could have been a little spicier and/or more tart, but it was delicious anyway. They brought flour tortillas for the tables, but when asked, brought delicious hand-made corn. Even with the tip included, my bill was under $12--not bad for a nice lunch. They have a large and beautiful outdoor patio, but we chose to sit inside since it's July in Texas!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food and awesome service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We had the Enchiladas 09 with the crema cilantro and crema chipotle sauce. Oh my gosh this has to be the best chicken enchiladas with the sauces, poblano corn white rice and ensalada esmeralda we have ever had. Also you can't go wrong having a The 09 Maragarita.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paloma Blanca Mexican Restaurant & Catering also viewed

 

Been to Paloma Blanca Mexican Restaurant & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paloma Blanca Mexican Restaurant & Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.