We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please the entire family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
6330 N Interstate 35, San Antonio, TX 78218-4403
210-599-8080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #365 of 3,892 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Please the entire family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I enjoy the fish, greens and cornbread. Choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Country Store is always fun.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    40
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“C.B. now scraping the bottom of the barrel???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our favorite breakfast place in San Antonio has always been the Cracker Barrel on IH10 West near Huebner Rd. If ever you were looking for the perfect breakfast, this was it. I couldn't even prepare my 'over easy' eggs at home as well as they did at C.B., but our last couple of visits have been disappointing. At lunch a few weeks ago, my hubby ordered meatloaf. In the past, there was a very adequate portion, but it's becoming more and more apparent that C.B. is cutting back on portions to save $$$. His was not much larger than the size of a deck of cards! At least half the previous size. Then two days ago, we went there for breakfast, and the eggs were very small and most of the white part was missing! If you picture them as a clock, with the yolk in the middle, then the white part between 4 o'clock and 1 o'clock was totally missing...on both eggs. They have obviously switched to small eggs, but still, where did the white part go? We called our waitress over and she agreed the orders were not at all acceptable, so she had both of them redone. The whites reappeared in the new dishes, but it was still obvious that they have switched egg sizes. The sausage, however, was of the usual size and delicious, as always. The gal who brought our butter and jam had only one jam container and three butter containers, and this is for two people. This was corrected after inquiry. We so hate to see one of our favorite places not living up to its previous standards. If you go here, don't accept sub-standard dishes. They will make corrections.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Food Always good. I like the Apple Butter. They will bring you some with your bread if you ask. My wife usually finds something she likes on the clearance rack (clothing). Sweet Tea is a favorite

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfields, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Texas Southern Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great food and sweet Texas southern hospitality. All our meals were delish and our waitress was sweet as pie!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have tried different items for breakfast and lunch/supper. Every item so far has been good--no complaints. Locations are everywhere and we have tried several and have not been disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cracker Barrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.