We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful restaurant just a block from the riverwalk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Houston Street Bistro

Houston Street Bistro
204 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1815 (Downtown)
210-476-8600
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #190 of 4,104 Restaurants in San Antonio
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Arlington, Tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful restaurant just a block from the riverwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to try this place and were not disappointed. It was within walking distance from our hotel on the riverwalk and had the perfect ambience to quietly celebrate our anniversary. After 8pm, bottles of wine are half price which was a pleasant surprise. The service was experienced if just a bit inattentive. In his defense, a 7 top arrived in the middle of our meal, but we would have ordered dessert had we been asked 10 minutes earlier. But I'm getting ahead of myself. The entrees were wonderful, especially the wasabi encrusted tuna on a bed of corn rice medley with an incredible sweet Thai Chili sauce. The tuna was cooked to perfection at medium, seared on the outside with a rich red center. It was definitely our favorite. The grilled salmon entree was also cooked perfectly at medium, but the bed of barley and spinach it was served on seemed a bit heavy and bland. Overall, it was a wonderful meal and we would definitely return.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    8
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Satisfying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is a really satisfying restaurant in the heart of San Antonio's traditional theater district. It offers an urban alternative to the nearby River Walk. The bistro fare here is comfort food on a very high level. Fish, pasta, and vegetables (both cooked and in salads) were the highlights of our recent dinner: fresh ingredients, classically prepared. The wines by the glass were terrific.

The large room, which at first seems a little dark, is actually both colorful and comfortable. Although it was packed (because of a show at the Majestic Theater, next door), our server was attentive and moved things along at just the right pace.

Unexpectedly, this turned out to be one of the best meals we had in San Antonio.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VERMONT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quite the find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Next door to the Majestic Theater, this restaurant is a gem. With all of its dishes named after plays, they are moderately priced, with GREAT tasting food. Highly suggest reservations on nights when there is an event at the Majestic.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Close to Majestic Theater, great for an early dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Great food, we have dined here for years and love the menu here. Cozy, and convenient to the theater. Service is unpredictable, go early to allow for slow service, or forgotten items. Staff can be rude.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Far better than Riverwalk Restaurants and only a block away. Excellent place for Theater goers!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

This has become my favorite downtown San Antonio. Besides its great location smack between the Majestic and Empire Theaters, the atmosphere is perfect to escape from the hussle & bussle of the world! If Pacho or Ernesto are around, try to get one of them for the most excellent service. They consumate professional who make each diner feel like they are giving them individual attentive service!!! Their lunch service is very competitive and the ONLY place I will eat when I am downtown or nearby. This is far better than Riverwalk Restaurants in terms of food quality, price and service!! A giant Classic Noir Hollywood mural and Texas Flag on the ceiling add to the class! The times I have been there (most recently tonight) the owner is on hand to ensure a regimented service and wonderful dining experience. I noticed a couple of less than favorable reviews below, but know that the two servers mentioned no longer work there (could it be, the owner pays attention to his customers? or TripAdvisor? LOL). Lunch time usually includes a soup or salad, entree & tea for the best price and meal around. It's not unusual to see the Mayor or other city leaders sitting at a table next to a group of nearby office workers or tourists from the Gunter, Valencia, Embassy, Drury or Holiday Inn nearby. I would highly suggest reservations on evenings there is an event at the Majestic or Empire Theaters because they become filled quick! They are famous for their tomato basil soup. Meals are usually served with some warm fresh bread and olive oil. A must if you are near the Theater District, or want a romantic meal with your sweetheart on non-theater show nights. Lunch is between $8 and $15. Dinner entrees are around the $18 to $30 range.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Houston Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houston Street Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.