We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for picky eaters!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Bowl Cafe

Fire Bowl Cafe
255 E Basse Rd, Ste 600, San Antonio, TX 78209-8345 (Uptown Broadway)
210-829-0887
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #792 of 4,136 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Uptown Broadway
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent for picky eaters!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love the idea of helping yourself to whichever veggies and mixings suit your fancy! The employees are always really helpful with suggestions for fun combinations and don't mind if you take your time deciding how many pieces of broccoli to fit into the bowl. Excellent and delicious, fresh choices!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fun, fast, delicious Asian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Here you can be creative and choose your stir fry ingredients or order standard fare soups, noodles, vege, and more. I have been six times for lunch with no mistakes in the order, beautifully plated and very reasonable city prices. My last visit I had an awesome coconut soup with fried shrimp. They have Asian and local beer.

It is easy to overlook this location, as it is facing Basse Road in the Quarry but east (behind) of Nordstrums & Whole Foods and just south of Whole Earth Provision around the circle. Make it a point to grab lunch there next time shopping in the Quarry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great, fast Asian Cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Firebowl Cafe has delicious and healthy food for a great price with very fast service. My wife and I love to go here for lunch or dinner before a movie at the Regal Quarry theater. If you like hot and sour soup, Firebowl's is delicious! We also love their create your own stir fry - choose your meat/tofu, veggies, starch (rice, noodles) and sauce. If you like spicy - the fire sauce is my favorite. The veggies are really fresh and taste great. You can get a great meal and also feel like you're eating healthy too.
The prices are very reasonable- the stir fry bowls are filling, cost just about $7.50 each and it only takes about 5 minutes to get your food. One of our favorite places to go in SA!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good service,good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

The waitress was very helpfull and nice. Large dish. $20 for 2 with 1 appertize, 2 entree, 2 drink.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great (and big) bowl of stir fry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

The stir fry is well prepared. The ingredients are fresh. There are many suggestions to make choosing for a neophyte easier. I like making my own combinations and choosing my own vegetables. Restaurant is a little cramped and parking is bad. I always make sure to come in before or after the 12 noon rush.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire Bowl Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Fire Bowl Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Bowl Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.