We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madhatters Tea House and Cafe

Madhatters Tea House and Cafe
320 Beauregard, San Antonio, TX 78204-1305 (Arsenal)
210-212-4832
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 4,197 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Delicatessen, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Arsenal
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Ate here at the recommendation of friends who live in San Antonio. It's a great local breakfast/lunch place. A little bit off the beaten track but still very close to downtown (~2 miles). The Eggs Benedict were tasty (they serve several different types) and the cinnamon scones with their jam-butter spread were decadent. Its not a huge place so seating can be limited at peak hours. If you have breakfast at 9:30 on Sunday you'll beat most of the crowd but if you show up an hour later you'll hit peak crowds.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    73
    22
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
dallas, tx
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Tea is not good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a place to have a great pot of hot tea and breakfast too. They brought our pot but when I tasted it I tasted vinegar! We sent to back two more times to try again but it still had a faint vinegar taste. We were told they cleaned the teapots with vinegar. Ok, but rinse and refines. Although the breakfast was good they say they are a tea cafe. I ended up getting tea at Starbucks!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“They treat me like family here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I love this place. I went in to get a coffee just yesterday (I'd been here several times before) but the people are so friendly and so accommodating. I had been craving poptarts all day so I brought one to snack on while there while I attempted to get some work done and the guy offered to toast it for me! I didn't even ask, but it was really sweet of him to do that. I wish I remembered his name, but he was really friendly. They have a wonderful selection of different types of teas. Those of which I have tried are fantastic. I have only eaten here for brunch on Sunday and the food was really good as well.

I found out also that M - F they have happy hour between 4&7, all bottled beer is $2! They don't have anything on draft.

Also note, they don't have an espresso machine (closest place would be liberty bar down the street) and they do have a wide selection of desserts that change often depending on what they're supplied with.

I have been on a Saturday night too and they had live music playing with people dancing :) This place offers such variety. Depending on what day I walk in it's like a completely different place, with different types of people but still with the same cozy feel. Hope you'll give it a try!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cozy yet upbeat atmosphere. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The food choices were simple, yet phenomenal. The staff was very friendly and laid back. We went after church and it was a great way to start the morning. Their oatmeal is infused with cinnamon and cardamon tea, mixed with fruit, and topped with cream-delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Found this place on a holiday weekend visit to San Antonio courtesy of Google. Located in historical district of San Antonio & less than 10 minute drive from downtown area. Great Breakfast - the egg scrambles are delicious & they offer delicious desserts as well. Quick service. A great find.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madhatters Tea House and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Madhatters Tea House and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madhatters Tea House and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.