We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cappy's Restaurant

Cappy's Restaurant
5011 Broadway St, San Antonio, TX 78209-5707 (Alamo Heights)
210-828-9669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cappy's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 4,093 restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Alamo Heights
Cross street: Mary D
Transit: VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.
Description: This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Kobe beef burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chip or potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, fire-roasted prime rib, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, and top entree salads, chicken and seafood dishes. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Scheduled a dinner meeting at Cappy's and we were all impressed with the food & service. The bread was excellent and we had several refills. Nice relaxed atmosphere with excellent service.

I will be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    165
    50
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“rude service if you have a baby”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were not greeted and sat on the table 15 minutes without a waiter approaching us. We went in for a quick lunch so our daughter would remain well behaved throughout the meal and we just had to leave since we are denied service. Will never return!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Food is too fancy for me.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We went to Cappy's because of its high Tripadvisor rating. The hostess was very nice and the service was very good and prices weren't bad. But I don't know what I would have eatten if they hadn't been having a prime rib special that night-- which was very good. I don't like restaurants where ALL the things on the menu are unusual. Just a little too fancy for me.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quaint and NOT on the Riverwalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were so sick of the touristy Riverwalk, so we tried Cappy's. We loved it! As you walk in the dining room, it was softly lit and seemed too fancy for how we were dressed. I asked about the dress code and the receptionist said that we were fine. The outside was more casual, and fun. The food was excellent. The presentation for both meals was great. I had the gumbo and it had a slice of blackend fish layed on the top with a shrimp onthe top. My husband had the pork chops. Our service was fantastic!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Make time to go to Cappy's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

It's our first time at Cappy's, and I'm glad I took the suggestion. Went for brunch after making a reservation shortly before our arrival. The outside of the restaurant is colorfully painted, landscaped for privacy and includes a large patio. I love the exterior look. Plenty of parking available on a side street lot.
We sat inside and enjoyed our attentive but not overbearing server and the delicious Truffled Eggs Hommard and Sunday Breakfast. The restaurant was packed, and yes it was noisy, but with people enjoying the food and company. Our food was delivered in an appropriate time period, cooked to perfection and the coffee kept coming. Can't wait to come back again to sample other menu choices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cappy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cappy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cappy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.