We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pie in San Antonio!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Ellie's Pizza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Miss Ellie's Pizza
903 E Bitters Rd Ste 301, San Antonio, TX 78216-2300
(210) 499-1258
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #489 of 4,136 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best pie in San Antonio!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is the best pizza in San Antonio; my husband and I have been coming here for years! It is very consistent! Authentic pizza from NY .... Mmm so good!! Owners friendly and polite...try it you'll love it!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
“Watch your bill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The pizza is decent but greasy. My problem and why I haven't gone back is the cashier tried to take advantage of my children. He decided to charge them for a cup of water. $1.00 a piece. When I went up to the register to help all of a sudden the bill changed.....hummmmm. Really??? If you don't want kids there make it obvious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Asheville
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Pizza for Texas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

They say it is New York pizza and maybe it is but in New York it wouldn't be in business. But in Texas it is good pizza. You don't want to eat there it is not comfortable but take out is the way to go.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa, ok
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Ok this is real New York thin slice pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Ok decided since I was in town and on past reviews to try it. I walked in around mid afternoon and it was the typical nothing fancy small pizza joint in an older strip mall with with three steel deck ovens, the typical clientele eating with purpose and minding their own business.

I ordered one slice of cheese pizza which to me is the real test. After all if a plain slice isn't any good,no matter what you put on it, it still isn't good pizza. The slice came out with a nice chard, the flavor was very good with very nice spicing and a nice sweet sauce, not over loaded with cheese. The crust was crunchy and tasty on the outside yet still moist and flavorful inside.

It's definitely NY style thin crust and of the type reminiscent of that you would get on the old New Jersey boardwalk. The closet to true New York style Ive tried outside of the NT Metro area. In fact I would even say it's just close. It's truly good NY style pizza. If served in the NY area, people would ask were you got it so they could order some. The locals should be very happy to have it there.

I took a whole plain and a sausage mushroom back and my Texas relatives that I was visiting really enjoyed it.

This is now my go to pizza when in San Antonio.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed the pizza, lasagna and garlic knots! You leave very well fed!! The salads are fresh and the service prompt and courteous. Kudos to the staff!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Ellie's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Miss Ellie's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Ellie's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.