We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good when craving a burger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willies Grill & Icehouse

Willies Grill & Icehouse
15801 San Pedro Ave, San Antonio, TX 78232-3728 (Far North Central)
(210) 490-9220
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #463 of 4,136 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Far North Central
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good when craving a burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Tasty burgers but ensure you tell someone if you want it cooked less than well. We went on Saturday with kids but it got crazy busy after noon. We slid in just before and it was fine. Next time we will try wings which looked good. We hit the Leon Springs location and it was great. Tip: one brownie dessert is enough for at least three kids.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Bad night but mgr made it right & great food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Long line- lost app ticket- out of wings- watered down drink- food, once we got it was great!!!!!! & mgr made it right- recognized the mistakes & made it right & that's why I will come back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food Great; Service Not So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I went on a Sat about 1130am which was a good time to go to beat the local rush. You can sit in/outsie and it is a very relaxing atmosphere. When sitting stay away from the tables near the rest room area and drink station. Too many people passing you in both directions, both customers and servers. Order anything, it's all good. I ordered a bacon-cheeseburger and it was great. Nice size patty and bun. Fries were pretty good as well. Although they weren't that busy when we arrived, it seemed to take forevcer to get our order delivered to our table,and the waitress we had wasn't too quick on bussing our table. She seemed to forget things and this was without a rush. When we did leave the place after our meal, it did become a little loud and full. Not many little kids, but larger groups of 6 or more at tables. Seemed like a local place or college place to meet and greet especially with the different varieties of beer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, fun hang out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I try to go to Willie's every time I am in San Antonio, love it when the weather is nice like now and can enjoy the patio seating. You know when you see a place filled with all ages, from the kids playing in the sandbox to little old ladies with a walker that the restaurant has something for everyone. The menu really has a great variety. When you see the place your thoughts are this is a burger and beer type of place but it is much more. I love their seafood. I usually order their grilled shimp dinner, plenty of shrimp seasoned and grilled to perfection, you get to choose two sides, I love their grilled mixed veggies and rice. This time I had the grilled tilapia (you can also get it blackened or fried) the tilapia was seasoned and cooked to perfection - better than I have had at high end restaurants! It was a very large portion too. Others in the group, had grilled shrimp over salad, a burger, a loaded baked potato with pulled pork, and their new asian chopped salad. Everyone was very happy with their selections and the two with the Asian salad were raving about how delicious it was. This place is popular and gets crowded on weekend evenings so plan for a little delay. Their setup is a bit different, you order at the counter and then are seated at a table. If the place is full, there is a staff member there finding out how many in your party and trying to find a place to seat you and/or giving you an estimate on your wait time. Once you're seated at a table, a server comes to your table, takes your slip from the counter with your food order, confirms the order and then turns it in to the kitchen. Servers are quick to refill drinks, and check to see if anything else is needed. Food is served in a timely manner and is always piping hot. You can't go wrong here, and kids have an outdoor play area and a small room with video games to keep them entertained.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really good turkey burger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were really hungry after a day of shopping. This restaurant right off highway. Wasn't sure what to expect. You give your order before you pick a place to sit. They have a big sand box for the kids outside. Lots of outside seating as well. We both ordered a turkey mushroom burger. One of the best we have ever had! Fresh and delicious. Ordered veggies instead of fries. Freshly steamed. Very good. Of course wine and beer. All very reasonably priced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willies Grill & Icehouse also viewed

 

Been to Willies Grill & Icehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willies Grill & Icehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.