We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bohanan's Prime Steak and Seafood

Bohanan's Prime Steak and Seafood
219 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)
(210) 472-2600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bohanan's Prime Steak and Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 4,090 restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Navarro or Saint Mary's
Transit: Bohanan's is located in the center of downtown San Antonio; walking distance from most downtown hotels and conveniently located to city's public transportation.
Granger Indiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a party of over 25 people in a private room and the service and food was excellent. Great selection for dinner and wine

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    360
    89
    49
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A perfect birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I chose Bohanons based on tripadvisor for my birthday dinner while on vacation in Texas. The restaurant spread rose petals on the table to celebrate. Nice touch not overboard. The Chateaubriand was excellent could cut with a fork. They also did a special dessert. Service was top notch. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A wonderful and elegant place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our welcome was warm and personal. The bar is beautiful and old world. The restaurant elegant, charming and 'old world'.
There is enough choice off the menu for a vegetarian ( not gluten free though) and my husband's steak was excellent and cooked perfectly. The salads were excellent as well. The lady who waited on us was quiet, friendly , very polite and unobtrusive ( which is not what I could say for another waiter at the next table who was VERY loud and a tad too casual). Our service was excellent.
I was a little disappointed that the menu carries no gluten free options for desserts. Small bakeries, local cafes and even supermarkets carry some wonderful and flavorful pastries so it should not be difficult for a restaurant of this class to offer one or two options.
All in all, it was a wonderful meal and I would both recommend and return to this restaurant.
( this is by no means an inexpensive restaurant but it is well worth it),

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

One of the best steakhouses in all of Texas. A premium selection of dry aged and Wagyu steaks that puts others to shame -- with great service to go with it. Take a credit card.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BEST STEAK EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I ate here on our first wedding anniversary. Our waiter was amazing and the steak we ate was superb. It was costly but well worth the money. I highly recommend this restaurant, especially if you are celebrating something or someone special. YUMMY!!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bohanan's Prime Steak and Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Bohanan's Prime Steak and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bohanan's Prime Steak and Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.