We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced overcooked fast food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paesano's Riverwalk

Paesano's Riverwalk
111 W Crockett St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)
(210) 227-2782
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #149 of 3,892 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Overpriced overcooked fast food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The seared tuna appetizer was cold and cut too thick. it very obviously was not cooked fresh to order as both starters appeared in minutes! The shrimp paesano was I suspect microwaved hot.

The mains were spaghetti meatballs and gorgonzola fettuccini, both pastas were overcooked and the meatballs were mediocre.

Overall I was surprised that it rates so high on Trip Advisor but I suspect that this is more to do with the location being on the riverwalk that it scores so high. For the pleasure of this meal excluding wine but including 20% tip as we had no qualms with the service we paid $90.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    165
    76
    47
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food - worst service ever”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great food - recommend Frutta de Mar (seafood pasta) Waiter was awful, so awful we approached management. Said we wanted to tip kitchen but not waiter. We were told that waiter Michael was actually assistant manager and that they knew he doesn't say much. UNDERSTATEMENT!! He was robotic. no personality. This is tourist based business and they promoted him to assistant mgr. REALLY? He wasn't even efficient. COLD FISH. Would not go back there just based on him. So unfortunate. Management needs to give their heads a shake.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Almost didn't go due to a rude waitress, but came back 10 minutes later and was very well served by another waiter, who seated us at a great table.

Good wine list, reasonably priced for a fine restaurant.

As mentioned by others, the lobster bisque is FANTASTIC. The eggplant dish is also very good.

Recommended for couples.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Only if you are in dire need of pasta”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Over the years, Paesano's Riverwalk location has gone down in quality. We tried the special a shrimp pasta dish and fettuccini alfredo. The pasta was overcooked on the verge of mushy which is why I think they were both drowning in sauce. Now I like a lot of sauce, but this was more like a soup. The bread was probably the best part of our meal with more flavor than our entrees, it was soft warm and delicious. Our waiter was wonderful, attentive, and could anticipate our needs. Patio seating is perfect for people watching and enjoying Riverwalk.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful italian meal on a choice spot on the Riverwalk, service was great, bread very good as where the veal and sage ravioli and the chicken parmigiana. Great place to go back to!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paesano's Riverwalk also viewed

 

Been to Paesano's Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paesano's Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.