We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view of the past, old style German cooking.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schilo's Delicatessen

Schilo's Delicatessen
424 E Commerce St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2629
210-223-6692
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 4,141 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A view of the past, old style German cooking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

An old restaurant, been around for years. Once seated, you will wonder, what is this restaurant doing in downtown San Antonio. It serves German and American style food, it reminds me of the ethnic restaurants in the northeast.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    260
    101
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A respite from TEX MEX!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Tired of rice and beans? There are many places to eat along the riverwalk and surrounding areas in San Antonio. In my opinion, most of the TEX Mex is fair at best. Schilo's gives you an alternative and a good place for breakfast. As has been said in other reviews you cannot go wrong with the Root Beer and the Soup. The brats and sausages are also good if like traditional German food. My favorite meal at Schilo's is breakfast. They did a great job of keeping my coffee warm and turn out a good breakfast quickly. I have always seen locals and police officers having breakfast so you know it is good! Eggs and Brats for breakfast is the way to go in San Antonio.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Root Beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We visit Schilo's Deli every time we go to San Antonio. It was in walking distance to our hotel. They have great prices on their breakfast. As you can imagine competition in the Riverwalk Area for breakfast is high. They have the best homemade root beer. If you are a root beer lover, even if you can't sit down for a meal get a cup to go! It's so sweet and good. Great place, great service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“only have the pea soup and root beer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Pea soup and the root beer were excellent

The meal portions were small and expensive for what they give you

Service and the lady manager were poor and not customer friendly

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A San Antonio fixture! Comfortable, friendly, old-time local feel. Very reasonable prices. My wife said that the homemade vegetable soup she had for dinner was the best meal she had the entire trip. We didn't save room for any baked goods for dessert, but came back for breakfast the next morning. Not surprised to see many of the same wait staff - it's that kind of place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schilo's Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Schilo's Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schilo's Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.