We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silo Elevated Cuisine

Silo Elevated Cuisine
1133 Austin Hwy, San Antonio, TX 78209
(210) 824-8686
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Silo Elevated Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 3,892 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Barbecue, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mount Cavalry
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Exceptional food and service. Menu doesn't change that often, but thats fine....as it is always satisfying. Great for a date. One of the single greatest deserts I've ever had - homemade cheesecake with vanilla sauce. It's outrageous.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    39
    14
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“I keep going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

One of my favorite restaurants in San Antonio. I have had intimate two top table dinners as well as event dinners for 40 or more guest. The Silo never disappoints. Delicious dishes that will please even the finicky "foodie" with a nice wine list to complement your meal. The portions are generous but leave room for deserts. There is private dinning for those intimate dinners for special celebrations with the option of selecting your menu and your wine list for your guest in advance. Beautiful restaurant with a modern decor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Elevated cuisine and price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived without reservation for our wedding anniversary. The first floor bar is convenient with excellent service (try the raspberry mojito). We waited 5 minutes and the hostess escorted us to our table. The athmospher was perfect, our waitress was friendly and very attentive. If you are looking for a romantic place, this is it. Now to the food, average and over price. Our appetizer was extremely salty and the main course too. Regardless of the food we had a good time and a long and romantic evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Each meal better than the last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Never been dissapointed here. The five spice duck is probably my favorite entree - pan roasted breast and confit leg with almond & apricot couscous - delilighful! The seared sea scallops are another standout - so tender and succulent. I recently tried the shrimp & grits and was not dissapointed! The grilled shrimp are served atop cheddar grits with tassos ham, yummm! I also recently tried the jumbo lump crabcake and shrimp - wow - the crabcake was "meaty" and the shrimp served atop angel hair pasta had a surprisingly smokey flavor - delectable! Can't go wrong with the spinach salad served with fried brie, applewood smoked bacon, rasberries & dried apricots. The endive salad with candied walnuts & pear slices is also very good. I love this place - but it can be pricey.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Half price wine Monday thru Wednesday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Always a very good meal.

I had shrimp & grits with Tasso ham. Excellent.

Spouse had scallops w/garlic mashed. Also excellent.

Special appetizer of foie gras with blackberry reduction good but definitely not worth $22.50. Next time I will ask price of the specials. Signature dish (chicken fried oysters) much better deal at $12.50.

I prefer this location (the original) over 1604.

As usual, excellent service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silo Elevated Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Silo Elevated Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silo Elevated Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.