We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the juicy Pork Shank” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silo Elevated Cuisine

Silo Elevated Cuisine
1133 Austin Hwy, San Antonio, TX 78209 (Uptown Broadway)
(210) 824-8686
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Silo Elevated Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 4,093 restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Uptown Broadway
Cross street: Mount Cavalry
Spring, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Try the juicy Pork Shank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Remember when pork chops were juicy and delicious? When pork roasts were tender and scrumptious? Since the "health craze" that began in the 1980s, pork producers have been slimming down their animals, and I find that today's pork is often dry and tasteless compared to days of old.
But there is a rare breed of pork (Berkshire pork) that never lost its deliciousness, and it became popular with breeders in Japan while Americans were avoiding fat calories. Now, it's making a comeback with U.S. chefs, and that's a very good thing.
On a recent visit to Silo Elevated Cuisine on Austin Highway, Cider Braised Kuobuta Pork Shank ($26) was the first entree on the dinner menu. The waiter told me it was his favorite dish, so I tried it -- and I was in love! The meat was marbled, juicy, full of flavor and falling off the bone. Served with the chef's Green Chile Orzo "mac and cheese," sauteed spinach and ancho cherry sauce, it was a huge meal that had to be taken home and enjoyed again next day.
My dining partner had the evening's special rib-eye ($44), which he loved. He also liked the signature starter of Chicken Fried Oysters ($12; too much breading for me), but the pork was definitely the star of the show. Now that we know about Kuobuta pork, we will certainly look for it again. And we'll return to Silo Elevated for more great service and other discoveries from their enticing menu.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    69
    33
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san antonio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Gormet food in great setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We like the 1604 location of Silo the best, as it is a large, comfortable contemporary space. Very professional service.
Check out the early bird specials to save some serious money.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Special Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

If you like a table cloth, cloth napkins, wine and very good food, this is the place to go. Lunch is less expensive, but our last lunch was $52.00 counting the tip. It is special and worth the trip.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very upscale, wonderful place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I came here for a birthday dinner and the food was absolutely wonderful. I had the scallops with potatoes and the dish was perfectly cooked, well seasoned and a good portion. The service was of high quality and our waiter was very nice. And, the coconut pie slice was amazing.
As for the bottom floor with the bar and the lounge, again, very upscale and seemed to be a venue with lot's of potential.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“How unexpected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

It's tough to beat the mexican in San Antonio, but we wanted something a little more upscale. We have a sentimental attraction to the Fig Tree and almost went there again. But we opted for something different. After checking TA and Yelp we went for Silo. There were mixed reviews with most of the negatives around the attitude of the wait staff. They must have read those reviews and changed, because our waiter was excellent. He had just the right blend of friendly, professional, and - especially - knowledgeable.

Every part of the meal was great. A special - crab stuffed tilapia - encorporated the almost pure crab stuffing rather than just adding it.. Scallops were nicely carmalized and perfectly done.

The atmosphere is really nice - good for a romantic dinner or a nice family get together. If you are looking for a restaurant away from the river walk. Make this your selection,

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silo Elevated Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Silo Elevated Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silo Elevated Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.