We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in San Antonio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacala Mexican Restaurant

Jacala Mexican Restaurant
606 West Ave, San Antonio, TX 78201 (North Central)
(210) 732-5222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 4,093 restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: North Central
Tennessee
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Best in San Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We usually make this trip a couple of times a year. They had a slump a few years ago but now they are back! We made several different special requests and they met all of them. simply the best

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    38
    13
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Yummy - get the Jacalitos!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great Mexican food in an off the beaten path place!! The jacalitos are this concoction of chips and cheese and chicken.....it is just awesome!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A San Antonio treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have literally been eating here all of my life and I have never found a dish that I didn't like. Despite the fact that the original owners have passed away their children have keep the restaurant up to the same standards that it has always attained. Enjoy a margarita with your meal as they are delicious here !!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cold food, sad to say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Like many San Antonio natives, I've been eating at Jacala's since my parents first took me in the 1950s....that's a strong tradition. I'm glad it's still around but I've cut back to only a couple of visits per year, and that's mostly due just to a nod to tradition and nostalgia. The problem for several years is that the food is never piping hot. Never. You hate to have to push a plate back to the kitchen to be nuked. It shouldn't happen at a respected Mexican restaurant. Cold food on a regular basis is a real problem that obviously hasn't been corrected. I long for the old days and old ways at Jacala's because the food can be very good and the old atmosphere is comforting. But too many of us have always cut them too much slack....why in the world are they still serving paper-thin corn tortillas straight from a grocery store package?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Where the locals go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We live here, and although we don't frequent it, this is a good example of an authentic Tex mex restaurant. I'd highly recommend it to visitors and locals alike!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacala Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jacala Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacala Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.