We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fig Tree Restaurant

Fig Tree Restaurant
515 Villita St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)
+1 210-224-1976
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 4,140 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $15 - $70
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Whether dining in the cozy interior or on the outdoor villa-style terrace overlooking the San Antonio River, exquisite food and impeccable service are mainstays of the Fig Tree Restaurant. Crisp linens drape tables set with fine china and sparkling crystal in elegant yet homey surroundings.Delicate, highly composed dishes such as Tournedos Rossini with Perigourdine Sauce, Seared Nori Tempura Yellow Fin Tuna and Cold Water Australian Lobster with Drawn Butter are menu stand-outs. Tableside flamed desserts include Bananas Foster over Vanilla Ice Cream and traditional Baked Alaska.Historically referred to as the Gray-Guilbeau House, the building is named for James Gray and French consul Francois Guilbeau who bought the house from Gray in 1853. The house saw many owners, including the Henshaw family, and was the last of the private dwellings in La Villita.The Phelps family purchased the home in December of 1970 as their personal residence. Visitors to the home were enthralled with its historical significance and ambiance. Prompted by this the family voted to share the house with all, and the Fig Tree Restaurant was born.Mr. and Mrs. Frank Phelps opened the Fig Tree Restaurant on March 17, 1971, and the family has continuously operated the restaurant ever since.We sincerely hope you enjoy this old home and its surroundings as much as those who have lived and dined here in the past.Around the corner from the Hilton Hotel, next to Little Rhein Steak House
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I had one if the most memorable and romantic dinners of my life in this place 20 years ago. Even if the quality of the cuisine has slightly changed, the ambiance is charming as ever.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    41
    10
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san antonio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD WITH GREAT VIEWS AND GREAT SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

very cozy atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff. Great wine list. the food we ordered for dinner were were Tournedos Rossini and Beef Wellington. both were great. I sure would any day choose tournedos. Desserts were ok.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Not as good as before”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have been having dinner there a few times a year for the last fifteen years. The location is fantastc and on a summer night dining in the patio is out of this world. But I notice that the quality and service have been declining in the last couple of years. They squeeze tables on the top terace next to the BBQ of the Little Rein Steak House; if the winds blows the wrong way; you get all the smell. The food quality is not exceptional as it used to be and the service is inconsistent; sometimes rushed and sometimes they forget about you. In my last visit, the waiter added the tip to the bill; it was only four of us and I was hopping to have the priviledge to decide on their service. Are we getting greedy?

Go for the ambiance but demand a patio table at a low level. Enjoy the place and do not be too critical of the service and food (Wine selection is reasonable).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great ambiance on the Riverfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

You will not be disappoited by the Fig Tree in San Antonio. You enter from the street levl near La Vallita. It's an old house and you can eat inside but they have several levels ouside on the riverfront. Beautiful view with lighs in the trees. The food is very good. We actually went there for our brother's birthday and they were having a prix fixe meal for $30. I had the shrimp with pasta and it was exceelent. Our server, Thor, was also great. Nice for special occasions and romance

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Dining on the Riverwalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This restaurant is on the quiet side of the Riverwalk and the patio is tiered so there is more outdoor seating and everyone has a great view of the passing barges. The waiters are great and the food is delicious!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fig Tree Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fig Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fig Tree Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.