We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast buffet ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Canarias Restaurant

Las Canarias Restaurant
112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1811
(210) 518-1063
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Las Canarias Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 4,137 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $31 - $75
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St. Mary's Street
Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best breakfast buffet ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Loved the fresh fruit and assortment of flavored spreads and breads. Every morning there were different hot entrees, but it was hard to pass up the cinnamon French toast for anything else.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    110
    25
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“What a waste of time!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was the worst dining experience! Loved tripadvisor for Wildfish...great food and service. Las Carnarias was awful. Took 45 min to get the cheese plate out. By then the kids already finished their chicken. Made the rest if the meal barely tolerable. The cheese plate was very simple with no real flavors.

After an hour, the entree never made it out. We dropped 20 bucks on the table and walked out.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Poor service...lack of ambiance for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Wait staff was very poor. Ordered the omlet, which was good but it came with nothing. This is a nice place but rhw entree comeswith no bread...no nothing...very disappointing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Elevated gastronomic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

OK, I usually do not rave about a place for lunch, but this was special. The food was creative, beautifully plated, and delicious. Do not miss the melon gazpacho, which is poured table side. And it may sound silly, but I have been thinking about their beef tacos...yes, tacos!!...for days. And I am not particularly a taco person. Perhaps that is because this was unlike any taco I have had before. Tasty, light, fresh...the perfect bite. This lunch made me wish I would be in SA longer, so we could come back for dinner. Only small criticism would be that service was slow and less attentive than would be expected, given place this nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of our best restaurant experiences...ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Every aspect of our experience with Las Canarias was excellent. The staff fulfilled our request to have a table by the window overlooking the riverwalk. Jorge was the man in charge of taking care of us and he was an amazing host. He was extremely knowledgeable about the food and professional and friendly without being obtrusive. The food was amazing. Every bite magic...and if you review my other reviews on TripAdvisor, I don't throw out superlatives lightly. Even when I wasn't too thrilled with the cucumber sorbet, Jorge immediately offered a replacement, which was wonderful (strawberry champagne sorbet). It was my wife's birthday so, without prompting, they brought a special extra dessert for her and sent the guitar player over for a birthday serenade. It was first class, yet relaxed. We were able to enjoy our time without hurry. This is an amazingly well run establishment in a beautiful location. Ask for Jorge...he's the best.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Canarias Restaurant also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Las Canarias Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Canarias Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.