We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traditional, reliable, consistent and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Canarias Restaurant

Las Canarias Restaurant
112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1811
(210) 518-1063
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Las Canarias Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 4,136 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $31 - $75
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St. Mary's Street
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“traditional, reliable, consistent and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The service is prompt and respectful. The food very well prepared in a non pretentious sort of way. The ambiance ad decor are subdued and conducive to a good experience. Reasonably priced and with a very good wine list

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    110
    25
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, GA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Riverview parade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This was the second time we attended the Christmas Riverview Parade and had dinner before the parade. This year they had a buffet instead of a sit down menu which was good, but the seating at the parade was a bit of a disappointment. No one told us that we could put our name on the seats so when we went down to watch the parade the seats we would have liked had names on them as reserved. The reservation said first come first served on seating. Very disappointing. We probably will not use them in the future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is my go-to fine dining restaurant in San Antonio without the stuffiness and snobbery. Food is consistently good through the years that I've been coming here. The portions are just right -- not too small not too big. Attentive, friendly service. The 3-course tasting dinner menu for $45 or $55 with wine pairing I thought was very reasonable. We had the short rib on polenta entree and the meat just melts in your mouth sans the grease. Everything was perfectly seasoned and delightful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

At $42, including unlimited sparkling wine, this is a steal. Amazing food, amazing views if you are seated on the patio. The hotel/restaurants could use a make over however, its pretty old school style. But I will never come to San Antonio again (I live in Atlanta) and not do the champagne brunch at Las Canarias! Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Champagne brunch is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The champagne brunch is pricey, but worth it for the variety of food and free mimosa refills. The ambience is great whether outside or inside. There is live Spanish guitar inside and the patio is hard to beat for location. The variety of food is truly stunning and it is a dining experience not to be missed in San Antonio in my opinion. Can't comment on the dinners but the Sunday brunch has become a tradition for us when we are in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Canarias Restaurant also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Las Canarias Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Canarias Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.