We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to have a conversation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Canarias Restaurant

Las Canarias Restaurant
112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1811
(210) 518-1063
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Las Canarias Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 4,139 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $31 - $75
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St. Mary's Street
Indiana
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A great place to have a conversation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

It's frustrating to have to shout when you want to have a conversation over dinner. This restaurant was one of the best I've encountered when it comes to creating a place for both a great meal and a great conversation. I took a group of six here and we all enjoyed ourselves, although we were a bit concerned that three menu items were unavailable and that there we no chef's specials. We were treated, however, to a complimentary chef's creation that we all enjoyed, in addition to our food.

Please note that this is not standard San Antonio Tex-Mex fare but more of a continental flavor. There are plenty of places to get great Tex-Mex and Las Canarias is a wonderful place for a quiet, romantic dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    111
    25
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast Buffets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Only did the breakfast buffet on Saturday morning and the special brunch on Sunday. Saturday buffet was basic. The Sunday brunch was wonderful. Make sure to make a reservation for Sunday morning.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Everything Excellent Except a Little Salty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The decor, the location and the service were great. The food was also except that my wife and I found the duck and the scallops notably salty. For that reason, I have to only call this an average meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovey meal and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We came with a group of friends, quite early so there weren't many others dining. It was posher than we expected and from the name, we had assumed a more TexMex focus on the food. The waiter picked up on our concerns and offered some off-menu alternatives. I had nachos with braised beef, they were both delicious and enormous!
It was only when we left that we realised we were on the Riverwalk as we came by taxi! Would definitely come back, probably just with my husband for a more intimate meal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Visit this place. Best Brunch ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice place to stay, to get an afternoon drink or enjoy a wonderful brunch. It is above all brunches you have had. So good and so many choices. Great service

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Canarias Restaurant also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Las Canarias Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Canarias Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.