We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST eat at when visiting the Riverwalk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Canarias Restaurant

Las Canarias Restaurant
112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1811
(210) 518-1063
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Las Canarias Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 4,136 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $31 - $75
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St. Mary's Street
BILLINGS
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A MUST eat at when visiting the Riverwalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We LOVE this restaurant, from start to finish it was excellent. The service impeccable and the food is second to none. We loved that a wine steward helps in choosing wine from the extensive list. Choice of sparkling or plain water--love. We shared the cheese board starter and it was marvelous with 3 cheeses changing seasonally. The table across from us saw our and ordered the same =]. A Lime/Basil palette cleanser from the chef was perfect.
had the Duck entree and it was the best I've eaten--moist, flavorful. My husband had the Tenderloin and it was cooked to perfection--hailing from Montana, he's a little picky.
Save room for dessert and order the Chocolate Cake with Cherry Sorbet to share--YUMMO!
#1-- If you make reservations, which we recommend, ask for inside seating if in July -August and a window seat. Wonderful in the air conditioning over looking Riverwalk.
We WILL return!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    110
    25
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Las Canarias”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have been several times most of the time for Sunday Brunch - I love their food and the atmosphere. I particularly love the Hollandaise sauce.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Taste and Elegance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food was fantastic! We had their breakfast and brunch buffets, best I've had yet! There was nothing to dislike at all!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Breakfast is Beyond!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had two very disappointing experiences in restaurants on the Riverwalk so we weren't expecting much when we went looking for a good breakfast.

Service was excellent! Our waiter never let our coffee get cold! We all ordered off the menu but a breakfast buffet is also available. The Malted Waffle was simply amazing. It was served with carmelized pecans, strawberries, cream and syrup on the side. The Huevos Rancheros were not your typical and the were AWESOME! It was a unique twist on an old tradition which left me pleased and full!

It was a wonderful dining experience and the next time I have to be in San Antonio, I will make a point to go have breakfast at Las Canarias!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellente!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant has a wonderful view overlooking the Riverwalk. I had the duck which was delicious. For desert, Tres Leches Cheesecake.So incredibly good! This place gets high marks for service, ambience, food and drink. But of course, when you get the bill, you see why. It is pricey, as is most dining options on the Riverwalk.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Canarias Restaurant also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Las Canarias Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Canarias Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.