We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Guenther House

The Guenther House
205 E Guenther St, San Antonio, TX 78204 (Arsenal)
(210) 227-1061
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 4,197 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Arsenal
Valley Mills, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“It's a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Every year when we make a visit to San Antonio we try to have a breakfast at Guenther House. When we have been there early (within the first hour of opening), we have our choice if seating, but after 8am there is generally a wait, especially on the weekends. The location is lovely in the old world elegant, now trendy, King William District on the river. The building is a picturesque turn of the century gem with a small Pioneer Flour Mills museum and gift shop inside that you can peruse while you wait. The breakfast portions are hearty and delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    186
    75
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Took a little driving time to get to the restaurant but well worth it. We had breakfast and the pancakes were delicious. Went through the History of the place while we waited for seating. Beautiful vintage look. Bought some pancake mix from the little store they have there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Has a lot of unrealized potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had breakfast here one morning while walking the southern part of the Riverwalk. The setting is fantastic, in an old mill along the river. I suppose that classic setting along with a recommendation from a friend who lives in San Antonio gave me high expectations for the food. Unfortunately, I was a little disappointed. The biscuit and gravy were good but I have had better at fast food restaurants. The pancakes were good, but, again, nothing unique or better than those from a national chain. This would have been ok, but the service was terrible. Though I was there before the rush, getting my order taken, as well as paying, took an excessive amount of time. Finally, though not to the point of unacceptability, there were far too many flies buzzing around the indoor dining room. Would I go back? Probably, but I think with some attention and tweaking, this restaurant has a lot more potential than it is realizing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Everything about this charming restaurant makes it special.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This vintage piece of history is located downtown in the King William area. It is a little hard to get to while there is road construction in the area, and expect a wait, but it is worth it. Dine inside or out for breakfast or lunch, and look around the grounds and the museum upstairs to learn a bit about its history. There is a gift shop upstairs to take away some jams or pancake mix, and a few baked items in the bakery to take home as well. I recommend the breakfast platter and I also love their chicken salad, and I will tell everyone I know about this little gem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

WAIT TIME: Sunday at 7:10am we had no wait, in fact we were the first people there. If you wait till after 8am it does start picking up and I am sure there will be a wait list by 9am

SERVICE: Excellent service. Eric was our server.

FOOD: Delicious. Very homemade tasting. Great serving portions.

**Great overall value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Guenther House also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to The Guenther House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Guenther House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.