We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school burger joint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chris Madrid's Nachos and Burgers

Chris Madrid's Nachos and Burgers
1900 Blanco Rd., San Antonio, TX 78212-2617
(210) 735-3552
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 3,892 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old school burger joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

took my daughter and her friends to Chris Madrid's for burgers. Simply put it is definitely a old school burger joint. There are about 6 different burgers to choose from regular and macho sized. We had a good time the place is very busy but if you want a good burger I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    88
    43
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Eat the Cheddar Cheesy MACHO!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Not sure where the negative reviews are coming from. This place is GREAT! Don't worry about the looks...it's the food that counts. Have the signature Cheddar Cheesy Macho style. Yum! Cold beer at the counter or enjoy at the bar. Plenty of seating if you get there at the right time. Patio/outdoor for those spring days. Unfortunately, Chris (yes, there really was a Chris Madrid) passed away a few years ago. Being a local (grew up not far from the burger joint) he really knew how to satisfy! We'll miss him. Try the chips and salsa (free-self serve).

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This place is a must if you're in SA. The cheddar burgers are oozing with cheese and cooked to perfection. If your looking for a juicy, giant burger, eat here! Will def recommend to everyone!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What a wonderful suprise!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I came here with not high hopes of the best burger I have eaten in a long time but boy was I wrong!! The burgers here are delicious. Super delicious. Better than Whataburger. When we arrived the restuarant was packed with so many people. I noticed it was a get in line, order, and find a place kind of place. It took us approximately 10 minutes until we could order. Than we waited a couple minutes more so our food is prepared. I ordered a small cheddar burger and it was huge. I could not finish it. My co-worker at the macho cheddar burger and he loved it. He keeps raving how great the burger is. I highly recommend this place. A tip: order the family size fries. It feeds four people and it is cheaper than buying individual fries. Great price for the burgers. There is outdoor seating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow! What a burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My son found Chris Madrid's through Trip Advisor and wow! What a great find. It's off the beaten track and a hidden treasure. And well worth the stop.

It's counter service, which is a common thread in Texas dining. Both my son and I had Porky's Delight with cheddar. We also split a regular fries, which was more than enough for us to share.

The wait was a reasonable amount of time and they'll have the food all ready on a tray for you. And these burgers were worth the wait.

The cheese was so melty and the burger was so good with the right amount of toppings. The fries seemed like they were hand cut and were above average.

If you're in San Antonio and looking for a good burger, this is the place to go. One warning - this place filled up really quickly at lunch time. So either come a little earlier or be prepared off a little longer wait. Either way, it's worth the stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chris Madrid's Nachos and Burgers also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Chris Madrid's Nachos and Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chris Madrid's Nachos and Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.