We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new go to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biga on the Banks

Biga on the Banks
203 South Saint Mary's St., San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)
(210) 225-0722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Biga on the Banks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 4,141 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Market St.
Transit: Biga is located in the center of downtown San Antonio. Though we are walking distance from most downtown hotels, we are also conveniently located for any who wish to use the city's public transportation.
Description: Overlooking a quiet bend of the San Antonio Riverwalk, but within walking distance of all Downtown hotels and the Convention Center, Biga on the Banks highlights the daily changing menu of Chef Bruce Auden, the most frequently James Beard nominated Chef in San Antonio. Menu features seafood, steaks, lamb and wildgame with a preference for local and sustainable product, but do leave room for the Sticky Toffee Pudding.With high Zagat ratings Biga is an ideal venue for a romantic dinner for 2 or has impressive private dining rooms to entertain clients.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
“My new go to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

After coming to San Antonio several times a year, this is the first time I tried Biga. Wow! It exceeded my expectations. Menus are printed daily with the specials and new menu items. Conveniently located on the Riverwalk but not in a mass crowd kind of way. Everything was flavorful and fresh. The group loved being able to order a half size entree so they could enjoy a appetizer as well. It may cost a bit more but is worth every cent!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PandB7, Owner at Biga on the Banks, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the review, we hope to see you often, do let us know when making the reservation is you have area of the restaurant you prefer or a waiter and we will do our best to accommodate.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    131
    52
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Ate here on March 5 with a friend based on on-line recommendations. Seated immediately upon arrival at a window seat. Great waiter who has been at this same restaurant for 13 years (which tells a lot about how staff are treated). Enthusiatic about the food, and had many recommendations. Comped us a glass of champagne each. Attentive, but not overbearing. I had the signature dish of Antelope loin and Quail, which was very well prepared, tasty, and arrived with good side dishes. Nice variety of bread served with the food. My companion had a steak which was perfectly prepared, and also came with yummy horseradish mashed potatoes and perfectly cooked green beans. We opted for a light desert of fresh made sorbets...mine was mango peach and a perfect end to a nice meal. Not cheap, but the best meal we had in a week of eating on the River Walk.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best in Riverwalk area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you like fine dining and professional service, book a table here. We enjoyed beef, lamb, ahi, wish I had time to go back again! Sticky toffee pudding sounds over the top, but reasonable portion and fab taste means you should at least share one order for the table. Or perhaps two.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Presentation a Plus!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent food, exemplary service, stone's throw from the River Walk. Pricey, but a nice menu that offered choices other than Tex-Mex.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice quiet dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We enjoyed the top quality food and atmosphere at Biga. We had a large group and no one went without specialized and individual attention.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biga on the Banks also viewed

 

Been to Biga on the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biga on the Banks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.