We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a business event.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morton's The Steakhouse - San Antonio

Morton's The Steakhouse - San Antonio
849 E. Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)
(210) 228-0700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Morton's The Steakhouse - San Antonio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 4,136 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Crockett & Bonham
Description: Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.
United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice for a business event.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

3 events were planned during a recent convention event and all of them went smoothly. The planning staff was thorough and attentive. All the meals were served in a timely manner, delicious, with no complaints. Very nice atmosphere, classy, expensive but worth it. Clients will enjoy this resturant.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    37
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Smith, Arkansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I had the lobster bisque soup and the medium filet with black truffle butter. It was fantastic. My wife had the cold water lobster tail and said it was the best she has had in a long time. We both agreed that it was much better than our meals at Bohanan's a couple of nights earlier. The service was better as well.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not up to the Standard”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We made reservations with OpenTable. When we arrived, we were given a horrible table, even though many others were wide open. When asked for a different table, they stated that all were already reserved. We were literally the second party to arrive at the restuarant that evening!

Everyone entering the restaurant walked past our table and the aisle was so narrow that they ran their butts across the tabletop. Interestingly, the wait staff had to do the same, but no awareness of our disgust at this. Our server was horribly inattentive. He never did bring me my glass of wine for the meal that I ordered. After we were served our meal, he never once returned to check. AND YET, he had the table next to us and was regularly attending to them and walking right by us. I couldn't help but feel like we were being singled out for some reason. This really stunk as this was meant to be a special treat for some of the people that work for me.

Talking about the food....the food was mediocre. My filet mignon was undercooked even for a filet. The potato sides had little flavor. A miserable experience if this would've been a restaurant of 1/2 the price. A horrible experience for a Mortons.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Our dinner at Morton's steakhouse was a wonderful dinning experience. My shrimp scampi and my husband's filet, shrimp, and scallops were delicious. Service and atmosphere was excellent. We really enjoyed this upscale restaurant and plan to return. It was also a short walk from our hotel, The Grand Hyatt.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Not memorable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I'm not sure what all the fuss is about at Morton's. My husband and I were at a convention in San Antonio, we found Morton's very convenient to our hotel, so we decided to give it a try. We love a good steak...favorite places include Al Biernat's in Dallas, Hall's Chop House in Charleston, Flemings in San Antonio. Our food was good: a Filet Mignon, a Ribeye, two chopped salads, and au Gratin Potatoes to share for $137.00. Service was fine, we walked right in without reservations in very casual clothing, no problem. Everything was ok..but it just wasn't anything special.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morton's The Steakhouse - San Antonio also viewed

 

Been to Morton's The Steakhouse - San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morton's The Steakhouse - San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.