We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHANGE FOR THE WORST” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Goro's Sushi

Goro's Sushi
2619 Mossrock, San Antonio, TX 78230-5113 (Northwest Side)
210-349-8117
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #987 of 3,902 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $1 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“CHANGE FOR THE WORST”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Don't bother.... Poor service and the new chef has to go. We were weekly regulars and have have given the new chef a chance a few times understanding things change but after the third chance, we have called it quits and will never return again or until they get rid of the current chef who bangs dishes around. The previous chef was by far a cleaner sushi chef who knew what he was doing and certainly more personable. Mike made the place warm and welcoming unlike the now cold unwelcoming environment. The place is going down. Portions are smaller and did not taste the same. We have been going there for 10 years plus and am sad to say we will never be back. If you want to see the Chef freak out, ask him what happened to Mike and he goes buzzurk and slams dishes around......... It was weird and have never seen such behavior come from an employee to a patron. Shocking. It's just was well the food isn't the same either. Go to Fujiya on Wurzbach or anywhere else but this place., the service is so much better. Wish we knew where Mike went to.....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gnats, gnats, and more gnats!!! Bring your own bug spray!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I love the sushi and the rolls at this place...been there a few times but this last dinner was very unpleasant due to the gnat infestation!! Yes, Texas has it's share of flies but these little boogers were everywhere on this particular night (last week)... gnats love the fruity wine, which in my opinion is why there were hovering over our table and diving bombing the wine glasses...as well as some of our food...there should be NO gnats in restaurants whatsoever especially here in the USA! This is no third world country! I cannot give Goros 5 stars....I'm giving it 3 stars due to the gnat problems... I hope they clean up their act because the food is great but I cannot eat while being circled by flying insects!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were in San Antonio for Thanksgiving weekend and a friend that was with us had never had sushi before. This was the ideal place to take him. The food is wonderful, some of the best sushi we have ever had. The service was great, prices reasonable, and overall, it was a fantastic experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome! A+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I cannot recommend this place enough! Goro's Sushi on Mossrock / Vance Jackson is legit! Just about all of their sushi rolls are huge! They start you off with a Miso soup and salad for a starter - soup is really good! My hubby and I had the Cajun roll and also the Margarita roll - the 2nd roll I HIGHLY recommend! I really did consider having a Margarita roll to go, but decided to hold off until next time. Service wasn't too bad, but took a while to get the check. But aside from that, we'll be back!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The sushi is so great that you will keep coming back despite the poor service! The sushi rolls are large and reasonably priced. You can order a whatever roll and the chef creates a roll of his choice for you and everytime we have been happily surprised!

If you like sushi this is the place for you!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goro's Sushi also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Goro's Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goro's Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.