We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Rated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Worm Tequila Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Worm Tequila Bar
123 Losoya, San Antonio, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,314 of 4,093 restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: Bar
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Over Rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

While in San Antonio we stopped to see what all the buzz was about this place....The music was too loud (almost deafening) and the everything was over priced. Tourist trap.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    1
    8
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
houston
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“we could not get service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went in to hear some live music and have a couple of drinks on a Saturday night. There were some people there, but there were empty tables. We sat for about 5 minutes and no one came to take an order; we never saw any table service. My husband went to the bar to order drinks. Unfortunately, the female bartender was busy flirting with a customer and didn't pay attention. She definitely saw him approaching the bar, but ignored him. Two other guys were behind the bar as well, but no one was in drink making mode, I guess. After standing there for several minutes, we decided to take our business elsewhere. Too bad, because the music sounded good, but if you don't wait on your customers, soon you won't have any.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Music/Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I'm a rock music guy so if thats the music you like then The Worm is the place to go ont ther River Walk. Music ranging from Nirvana to Seether to Metallica to Soundgarden, very nice to sit down and just rock while having a few beers/tequila shots. The staff were great, the Bartender even gave me a piece of his Bday cake and a shot of tequlia to go with it. Its def a place i would always goto if it was around where I live....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“outside ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

great place to sit and people watch and have a drink inside has live music several days but its loud the terrace is nice drinks aren't cheap but its a nice place to cool out

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The plus side, this place rocks some awesome live music down on the riverwalk. The downside, we ordered some mojitos that were just not good. I've never sent anything back, but these tasted just like lime juice and were terrible. The bartender to his credit, was really nice and fixed us something different. But on a previous visit I sat at some outdoor tables that had menus on them think I could get service. It took over an hour (I didn't mind waiting because the music was awesome) before a new waitress would take my money. The waitress that was sort of working when I first got there just glarred at me, I had nothing but time and money to spend so I didn't mind staring back but after 45 min it did get pretty awkward.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Worm Tequila Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Worm Tequila Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Worm Tequila Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.