We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howdy Pardner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buckhorn Saloon and Museum

Buckhorn Saloon and Museum
318 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205
+1 210-247-4012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #358 of 4,140 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: The Buckhorn Cafe is open daily for lunch from 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM. We serve family fare including juicy hamburgers, Texas BBQ and chicken fried steak.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Howdy Pardner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The restaurant is done up with all kinds of stuffed animals and antlers - my kind of place and felt like my home. Great for pics next to the longhorn steer and check out the antler ceiling archs. It was nice to get away from the River Walk prices/food and just have a real hamburger with fries. Very relaxed bar/restaurant. Period characters greet you at the door - museum was probably great but did not have time. Within walking distance of the River Walk and Alamo. Was a nice break and love the decor and history of the Buckhorn. Great burger/fries/beer. Friendly family atmosphere in historic area. Great part of Texas history.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Oldest saloon in Texas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

If you would like a unique décor luncheon experience, I recommend eating at the Buckhorn for lunch at least once. The building is located about two blocks from the Alamo. Note the multitude of antlers on top of the overhang besides the head near the exterior entrance sign. If a family, opt to order in the corner and then find a table in the main room. If solo, couple or a fun group, mosey on up to the bar like I did. They provide you with a menu and you are closer to the alcoholic beverages. I ordered the two fish taco meal with chips instead of fries and their buckaroo drink made with prickly pear, among other liquids. There was only the one bar tender and she was slow. I had to ask for peanuts, which by the way, are really good with whatever seasoning is on them and are complimentary being served in a low blue pottery dish. There are laminated cards indicating what animal each of the vast multitude of taxidermy animals are if you are a hunter. Also, ask to see the laminated history of the saloon. The meal itself was average as was the drink. The interior is masculine with hundreds of glassy eyed stuffed wildlife mounted on the walls. Fun house mirrors line the walls on the way to the restrooms. I did not go into the museum but did visit the gift shop which had some cute items on cowboys, saloons and Texas. All in all this is a worthwhile visit as the décor sets this place apart from the Riverwalk upper class or Mexican themed restaurants. You may see a cowboy strolling around and if so, be sure to say 'howdy partner!'

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun Afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Before touring the museums, we enjoyed a jalapeño fish and a barbecue rib lunch both entrees were delicious. Because we bought their expensive museum tickets, 10% was taken off our bill. I also had $2 off coupons from the internet.
My husband is a hunter so I knew he would enjoy the museum, but I enjoyed it, too. We had a shooting match before leaving.
Mm

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

good night. great venue. had to wait for the airforce to vacate the premiss for free run of the building, but so worth it. again, awesome hospitality

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our group got to the Buckhorn at 3:15 and, unfortunately, they only serve lunch until 3:00. Because we didn't have time to spend in the museum, we opted for drinks at the bar. The bar is a hoot with lots of animal heads sticking out from the walls and a long horned steer stuffed and staring at you. The drinks were reasonable, the bartender friendly and the saloon a lot of fun just looking around. A nice stop to get out of the afternoon heat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckhorn Saloon and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Buckhorn Saloon and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckhorn Saloon and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.