We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best wedge salad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Grass Steakhouse

Salt Grass Steakhouse
River Walk, San Antonio, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 4,093 restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best wedge salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I know it seems absurd to rave about a salad, but; I am always dieting and eat salads very begrudgingly. This was the best salad I have ever had! My one daughter had the soup and said it was awesome, my other daughter had chicken tenders and she said they were the best she ever had. We all had steaks, all cooked to perfection and all delicious!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    24
    24
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Joshua
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Bring Your Appetite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The serving are enormous, so bring your appetite. The Salt Grass was recommended by our hotel at a great place to eat without the over inflated river walk resort prices - a great value. And they were right. Stop by and ask the Concierge at your hotel for recommendations and they often have a coupon for a discount or in the case of the Salt Grass - a free Appetizer - value up to $8.99. Which also save on your bill. I am a vegetarian and was able to find plenty to eat. I also eat gluten free and they were able to provide a gluten free menu with quite a variety of options. They have indoor and outdoor seating and if you choose to eat outdoors - area heaters to keep you warm.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent resturant, not so excellent bar service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Visited on 10/26/2013 around 8:pm-With no reservation we expected a long wait. The wait was 45 mins, so we sat at the bar where there was only one bartender tending to the bar crowd and making drinks for the waiters! We sat there for about 10 mins before another employee actually acknowledged us and advised the bartender to get our drink order. The bartender was moving very slowwww...The bartender is the only reason I give this place a 4 and not a 5. We enjoyed our dinner drinks on the balcony. The food was great as always!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara on the Lake
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent most of our time at the bar from 3:00 on trying their drinks and bar snacks. Great street tacos and margaritas on the rocks at terrific prices.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The place was very busy when we went to dinner, so we were even more amazed at the superb level of service that we received. Located in the historic casino building on the beautiful Riverwalk, you can select outdoor or indoor dining. The food was piping hot and delicious. Arrive hungry because the portions are generous.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Grass Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Salt Grass Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Grass Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.