We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff having tough day not too busy but food was good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Grass Steakhouse

Salt Grass Steakhouse
16910 San Pedro Ave,, San Antonio, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 4,141 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is on U.S. 281 north.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Staff having tough day not too busy but food was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Person seated us really insisted on getting an appetizer after we declined three times. Another wait person came over and seemed bothered we were there for lunch but the food was brought out hot and good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to eat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We will be back. The food was exceptional. My husband and I ordered the 6 oz sirloin, it was so tender and the flavor was great, did not even need steak sauce. Our server was wonderful. Very attentive and friendly!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wowzers, all the way around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was busy, but great restaurants usually are. Our server was great. Our food was great, and yes, the crab cakes are handsdown the best I have ever had, and that includes crabcakes in Seattle, WA. We ordered steaks, with different sides. The dinner salad was really good. And actually came with something besides lettuce! My husband had the steak soup, it was also excellent. I had the mac and cheese, which was made with a smokey cheddar! It was also great! Meat was tender, cooked to perfection. The bread is brought in little loaves, and light, but tasty. No room for dessert, but what we saw looked great. This was great for families, dates (lots of prom couples were in), dressy, or casual. We will be back!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Wait time for food was way too long”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

-The food was decent but the wait time was way too long.
-I waited over 1 hour before my food came out. Then they acted like it was no big deal. They didn't offer to comp our drinks or anything. Needless to say, I won't be returning.
-Also, most of the meals are overpriced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Order the crab cakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great food. Excellent service. The spinach salad and crab cakes were delicious...things you don't get anywhere else this good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Grass Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Salt Grass Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Grass Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.