We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unexpected Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mokara Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mokara Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Mokara Hotel and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Watermark Hotel and Spa) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #2 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
San Antonio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Unexpected Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have stayed in some of the finest hotels in the world, including the Connaught in London, the Four Seasons George V in Paris and the St. Regis in Punta Mita, and the friendliness of the staff and quality of their service is truly world class. Hilario was the first to greet us when we casually walked in the lobby. He arranged for us to see rooms, tour the property, and found us a great rate. Juan surprised us by offering to drive us to dinner one evening when we had not requested a driver. We are so glad that we stumbled upon Mokara and we will definitely be returning. My compliments to the staff and the management that trained them well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    101
    31
    18
    13
See reviews for
100
376
21
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We came for a site inspection for a conference planned next Fall and we are overly confident that it will be a great experience for our guests and an enjoyable experience for us (planners). Perfect location, extremely comforatable beds, great amentities, exceptional service and the flexibility you can only get from a small, boutique hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our 30yr anniversary at Mokara, and we experienced the most outstanding service ever. Every staff member acknowledged us by name coming and going, always offered directions and water as we left. We have made Mokara our official anniversary destination every year now. The food where do I start, it was absolutely fantastic, and cooked to perfection. The location is right in the heart of the river walk, and so beautiful. We can't wait to go back next year.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Mokara is one of the best hotels my husband and I have ever stayed in. The accomodations were perfect and the staff could not have been friendlier. The location on the River Walk in San Antonio was so convenient to all of the other attractions. I would highly recommend the Mokara and am looking forward to returning there someday!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Enjoy the rooftop pool and outstanding staff at this luxurious, small hotel. Rooms are spacious and beds, linens and pillows extra comfortable. Everyone is very friendly and accommodating. Great location on River Walk, quiet rooms even with lots of activity outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

For a recent ‘staycation’ my partner and I decided to treat ourselves to an overnight at the Mokara Hotel in San Antonio.

Arrival and check in was quick and efficient. The hotel did not seem busy this particular weekend, which was nice. The lobby is very inviting and front desk staff friendly and welcoming.

We booked a king room overlooking the Riverwalk. While the room is decorated nicely, I must say the size of the room compared to the costs are not in alignment. Being a resident of San Antonio, I should have known the Riverwalk rooms are basically across the street from the actual river and up several stories. So, you get more of a bird’s eye view of the river. This can come in handy if there is a lot of noise from the Riverwalk. These rooms come with a very small balcony, with barely enough room for 2 chairs and a really, really small table.

The staff at the restaurant for breakfast was very helpful and friendly, especially Richard the host on duty. The teams worked well together and provided attentive service, but not overbearing.

No question the hotel is very well maintained, clean and attempts to provide an upscale experience. However, I do think for the money it is a bit overpriced for the overall experience. My bill including the bed and breakfast package, room and overnight parking ($35.00) totaled over $600.00. Unfortunately, San Antonio does not offer a Four Seasons, St. Regis or Ritz Carlton property. The Mokara makes a respectable attempt to fill that void. That being said, I feel they should re-think their pricing and services.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Mokara is luxurious and well-located, with fantastic service. The spa is beautiful and services are high-quality. Food is excellent and there are healthy choices. Prime location right on the Riverwalk. Rooms are quite, comfortable, well-appointed, and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mokara Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokara Hotel and Spa

Address: 212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Watermark Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokara Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mokara Hotel & Spa, a relaxing retreat on San Antonio’s world-famous River Walk. Just steps from all the action yet worlds away, this inviting oasis has all the best creature comforts easily at hand, including luxurious accommodations, first-class amenities, fine dining and a full-service spa. Plus, our attentive staff is always available to make your stay in San Antonio a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mokara Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mokara Hotel San Antonio
Watermark Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mokara Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.