We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is true and then some !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mokara Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Mokara Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mokara Hotel and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Watermark Hotel and Spa) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #1 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Everything is true and then some !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A little difficult to find at first, but once we arrived, it was great. Recommend that you find a package deal to include valet service because there's no hotel parking and the cost is about $32 per day. There is a large garage two blocks away if you want to self park. The second you enter the lobby, the fragrance will immediately take over and you just know that this is a special experience. From front desk, bellman, and concierge, the on boarding is terrific. We were celebrating our anniversary and the concierge ordered champaigne and chocolate strawberries for us - nice touch ! When booking, request a room with a view of the riverwalk and ask for a high floor as it can get rather loud at night if you're on the lower floors. The top floor has a hot tub, cafe, gym, and small pool with nice views of the city. The spa did not wow me with the facility or treatments - steam room was under repair, hot sauna was not working, and my masseuse left me feeling a little worse than better. My wife enjoyed her half day treatment and had a better masseuse who can make all the difference. We had breakfast included and it was a bit confusing as one morning, it was a $36 credit for two, and next morning, it was all inclusive. The beds are very comforable and rooms are spacious. I would come back here for the right room floor level and view, and hopefully a better spa experience. This is probably one of the best locations you can find right on the river walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    507
    91
    27
    17
    12
See reviews for
90
334
18
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington,DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This boutique hotel was such a find! The staff throughout the hotel - bellman, front desk, pool, cafe, restaurant, housekeeping, etc - go out of their way to greet you, offer assistance, double check that you have everything you need. The rooms are comfortable and offer a nice view of the Riverwalk from your balcony. They offer complimentary coffee each morning and service is very quick. You never felt that the hotel was taking care of anyone but you! A great find away from the convention center atmosphere and the larger chain hotels. Well worth it and made our visit special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

In a City of convention size hotels this boutique property has it all. The interior is done in good taste on a Ritz or Four Seasons level.

Breakfast was very good and the Riverwalk seating makes it even better. The staff is friendly and dedicated to taking care of guests needs. You can have complimentary coffee delivered to your room at any time plus the is a Nepresso machine in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We will only stay at Mokara when we come back to San Antonio. It has great access to the River Walk, but it is elegant and not "touristy" feeling. We randomly ended up in San Antonio for my birthday weekend. We were supposed to stay at the Grand Hyatt, but I was incredibly underwhelmed after we got there. We turned to Mokara based on other reviews. Mokara's concierge recommended a great local restaurant to for dinner. When we got back to our room, the staff signed a birthday cars for me and left us a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries - so nice. All the rooms also have great soaking tubs. We are looking forward to our next stay in SA!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful spa. The rooms are fantastic....just wait till you see the jacuzzi tubs in EVERY room! The staff is very helpful and very friendly. They have wonderful packages that even include wine with your turn down service. This is a must!

Room Tip: View of the Riverwalk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This trip was our anniversary trip. From the moment I arrived, I felt so at home. The front desk staff were awesome at checking me in. The doormen were wonderful as well. I left some very important papers in a cab on the way from the airport to the hotel and Jaro managed to track down the cab and hand deliver them to my room. He also arranged for our transportation to and from the restaurant where we had our anniversary dinner and had a carriage waiting for us when we returned. I cannot say enough about the spa. I had the summer rain massage and my husband went for the more traditional. The room was huge beyond belief and our view of the riverwalk was awesome. The room was impeccably clean and the housekeeping staff is awesome. We had the breakfast package and the breakfast was delivered to our room and was set up for us. This was one of the best places I have stayed in San Antonio as this is a halfway meeting point for my husband and I since he works out of town and we meet at least once a month there. I will definitely return. The attention of the staff to detail is out of this world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I loved this hotel, located in a very central position of San Antonio. The hoetl is completely renewed
Nice atmosphere, big, elegant and confortable room.
Huge and very beautiful bathroom...for sure I will come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mokara Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokara Hotel and Spa

Address: 212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Watermark Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#1 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokara Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mokara Hotel & Spa, a relaxing retreat on San Antonio’s world-famous River Walk. Just steps from all the action yet worlds away, this inviting oasis has all the best creature comforts easily at hand, including luxurious accommodations, first-class amenities, fine dining and a full-service spa. Plus, our attentive staff is always available to make your stay in San Antonio a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mokara Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mokara Hotel San Antonio
Watermark Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mokara Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.