We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously unexcepted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mokara Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Mokara Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mokara Hotel and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Watermark Hotel and Spa) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #1 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Seriously unexcepted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Wow. This was a random girls trip. The hotel was choosen for its small size and the spa. We actually tried to make requests to see if the staff would say " no". It took three days and a request for a knife (at the front desk) to skin an apple (my friend is allergic to the skin) before we heard the first "no". It's crazy. Small boutique hotels are my favorite so this place fit me perfectly. San Antonio seems to be a convention center town but Mokara is special. Coffee service in the am and view of the riverwalk is lovely. We walked miles each morning to burn off the food and alcohol from the night before. Afternoons were spent at the rooftop pool and spa. We scheduled an extra spa service at the suggestion of the resturant manager downstairs. He should get a raise for the great upsale. One negative was the resturant downstairs. The breakfast buffet was over the top wonderful but dinner was very "room-service" quality, the bright blue glasses screamed "hotel". San Antonio is a lovely town with a lot of history and our time there was great. Mokara is the only place to stay. There is a great martini bar down the street in an old bank building. Awesome late night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    94
    27
    18
    12
See reviews for
92
344
19
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is worth every Penny spent! The service is top notch and the River View rooms are a must for couples. The bed was very comfortable! I will not stay at another Hotel ever when going to San Antonio from this point.

Room Tip: The River View Room is a must! It is worth every penny, even though it is a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Do not miss the Mokara hotel on the Riverwalk in San Antonio. This is the BEST hotel by far we've experienced in the area.
Great service, very personable. EVERY employee with which we came in contact was very courteous, gracious, and aiming high to please.
Great rooms, clean and comfortable.
Great spa, according to the wife, one of the top two anywhere!

Consider the spa package, with the spa credits, free breakfast, and free valet parking, this is a very economical choice for patrons.

Check in and enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Mokara Hotel and Spa. The service was excellent, the rooms were beautiful and I especially loved the huge bathroom with the great bath products and the huge jacuzzi tub. The bed was very comfortable. The location of the hotel is perfect - right on the edge of the Riverwalk where all the action is, but not right in the middle so as not to be too loud. We ate breakfast once at the Ostra restaurant in the hotel. The food was delicious, though a bit pricey. We did not use the spa so I cannot comment on it, but it looked lovely! The only complaint I have is that the internet is very unreliable and for the quality of the hotel, I would expect it to be better. If I were there to do business this would have been a big downside.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Mokara hotel and spa is owned by Omni hotels. Omni carries all of its wonderful service over to the Mokara. The valets greet you by name at all times, and the security is excellent as well. We booked the river view room on the top floor and it has a wonderful view of downtown and the riverwalk below. The spa is very well appointed, and very peaceful. An overall wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

I didn't stay at the hotel, but had services at the spa. The facility was beautiful with every amenity one could need to relax. I was there early in the morning and everything was spotless, and the service was impeccable! The prices are high, but they give you high price service and amenities!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I love this property....just make sure you book directly with the hotel if you plan to use the spa. I did not realize that trip advisor sent me to one of the booking agencies. The agent said I could call the hotel and book the spa separately, but then the hotel said that I could only enjoy special pricing if I booked both the hotel and the spa through them. So, the hotel and I got off to a rough start, but once I arrived, WOW! What a lovely, lovely property.

We were pampered every minute of our stay by the exceptionally well-trained staff. The staff was super attentive and gracious. Petra, the concierge knows every nook of the city and makes personalized recommendations based on the information she gathers from the guest. The doormen are anxious to help with any request...and offer cool bottles of water. No question irritated the front desk. They were peerless.

The spa is glorious. Make sure you schedule your time to enjoy the facilities before and after your treatments. I would recommend the rejuvenation package that includes the hotel room, valet parking, breakfast, and a $150/day spa voucher. There is a spa special that included lunch but breakfast is better than lunch at the roof top cafe. Osaka is fine dining but the cafe is your typical pool side grub....nothing special.

We vacationed at this property because it was geographically convenient but we WILL return because of the unparalleled experience. Bravo Mokara. Bravo!!!

Room Tip: Unfortunately, you cannot book a two double beds AND get a river side view. The wall really is awfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mokara Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokara Hotel and Spa

Address: 212 W. Crockett, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Watermark Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokara Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mokara Hotel & Spa, a relaxing retreat on San Antonio’s world-famous River Walk. Just steps from all the action yet worlds away, this inviting oasis has all the best creature comforts easily at hand, including luxurious accommodations, first-class amenities, fine dining and a full-service spa. Plus, our attentive staff is always available to make your stay in San Antonio a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mokara Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mokara Hotel San Antonio
Watermark Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mokara Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.