We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always an interesting place to visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Plaza

Alamo Plaza
San Antonio, TX (Downtown)
Improve this listing
Visit Alamo Plaza like an insider
Special Offer
$54*
and up
San Antonio Cruiser and Double-Decker Bus Tour
Ranked #40 of 327 things to do in San Antonio
Attraction details
Trinidad, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Always an interesting place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I am never disappointed with a visit to the Alamo, there is always something new to learn there. All of the Missions are interesting in their own unique way.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    76
    37
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Included the Alamo as well as the yard and gift shop. There is a small museum of the garrison. However, It would be better if you can visit at a time when it wont be crowded because the Alamo is a significant piece of Texas history

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
2,062 reviews 2,062 reviews
1,116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 390 cities Reviews in 390 cities
1,092 helpful votes 1,092 helpful votes
“Seriously, if you like the Alamo so much shouldn't you take better care of the surroundings?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I am still a bit baffled by the hype around the Alamo, given that it is a complete farce historically (look for the map where the original mission stood and where the Alamo complex now stands). Actually most of the Alamo Mission was where the plaza is now, but you wouldn't notice. The Alamo in the end is a monument to an idea of History, and not History. Look at old pictures of this area and you see how much people actually cared about the heritage and the mission itself.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The Alamo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were a bit surprised at the location and size of the Alamo as it is such a BIG word in our history memories and such a small place in reality, but it is very, very worth seeing. The flags inside representing all the states was neat. There were volunteers on site who didn't mind providing commentary on the building, location and even gave good advice for other spots to visit. Never go to San Antonio without going here--it takes so little time just to see it. One thing we did that helped burn the site into our minds forever was to couple the visit with a trip to the IMAX where they were showing an old movie about it. Of course, you can see it before you go and definitely cheaper by renting it for about $3 online. Kids will not mind ithe visit, either, as it is short enough to hold their attention and not long and boring as some historical locations can be. You can choose to pay for a tour or take your own.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

It is so odd to see the Alamo is actually right in the heart of downtown! Oddly, I envisioned it as being alone, out of the way - so upon reading the quote by one of the early supporters to save the Alamo "from the encroaching" building of the direct area, my husband and I looked at one another as if to say, "No kidding, just look around!"

It is a remarkable historic landmark, and you can just feel the history. I cannot even begin to imagine the desperation felt by those who fought so bravely.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Plaza also viewed

 

Been to Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.