We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverwalk Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riverwalk Vista to your Saves list
Riverwalk Vista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   262 Losoya St., San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Delightful, charming place. Excellent hosts, spacious room, tastefully accommodated. Bed was comfy, and windows in our room were double-paned and this undoubtedly helped soften the street noise. Loved the wood floors and the decor. Enjoyed the sense of history throughout and I spent some time looking at the old pictures, reading the captions, etc.

The property is very close to the riverwalk and it is very easy to stroll over to one of my favorite restaurants, Boudro's, and Biga on the Banks is also within walking distance. The breakfast was nice and we were offered wine upon arriving (no bar in the property, but there's a fridge in the room and plenty of libations in any direction -- this is the Riverwalk, after all).

We felt welcomed and we hope to return.

Now, the downside: You have to park in a nearby garage. Losoya is a one-way street and with current construction there it can be a tight and tense moment to get your luggage out. Call ahead and let them know you are pulling up and they will open the front door for ya. There is another issue about this matter: San Antonio is a tourist destination, and the Riverwalk is a hot spot on the weekend. The garage I was in filled up by 5pm on Friday afternoon. Don't be late if your coming down on a Friday or you'll be parking further down Commerce. There are few panhandlers in that area so you'd rather not be lugging your luggage from a parking garage several blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    85
    22
    9
    8
See reviews for
21
207
26
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Riverwalk Vista combines its restored, historic-style furnishings with modern comforts and conveniences. The rooms are really quite lovely, with high ceilings, plentiful natural light and a unique feel. Excellent location too, right in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

What an ideal location close to the Alamo, the Riverwalk, and the local trolley transportation. Entrance to the Riverwalk is less than a half block away with the Alamo and trolley transportation just two to three blocks around the corner. Very personal service here- each person on site was exceptional. Unlike a hotel this inn is more like a bed and breakfast. The room was great- hardwood floors- no dirty carpets and a very modern bathroom. In the evening the room we were in was quiet - no noise from the Riverwalk. Coffee always available with yummy cookies in the late afternoon. In the morning there is a variety of breakfast items, including a different hot item each day. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is historic, comfortable and clean yet still has modern accommodations like stone tile in showers and free wifi! The historic part comes with the exquisite original wood floors, 12 foot ceilings and floor to ceiling windows in every room!! They are directly across the street from the Riverwalk and within walking distance to the convention center, the Alamo and a plethora of other entertainment! The staff is extremely knowledgeable of their city and take the time to walk you to your room or help with bags! I have stayed here ever year for the last 4 years and Mrs. Patty always remembers me! She even remembers that I brought my Mother one year and always asks how she's doing! That personal touch makes up for the parking garage you have to use up the street.

Room Tip: Because this hotel is historic they do not have a fitness center or a pool. This may effect your ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Vista the same night the Spurs beat Miami in game 3 of the playoffs....Even though we are from Florida it was fun to view the revelers parading around the square just below our room.

If you like historic hotels you will love this one. Rooms were beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good.
Only inconvenience was parking...had to park across the street a block away. Yet, everything we wanted to see and do was within walking/ busing distance.
Close to the Alamo which was nice too.
Since you are right by Riverwalk you have easy access to all the restaurants and bars. It was fun to see the Spur fans who rented a boat, decorated it in San Antonio colors and parade down the river.
Best restaurant was Saltgrass...had a wonderful steak while sitting at the bar...good drinks too.
Disappointed in Acenar restaurant...ordered snapper and was served tilapia. I think they tried to sneak it past me...we complained and left...went to a Mexican restaurant down the way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We loved this little hotel. 1 Block from the Alamo and right on the Riverwalk this was a great location for our San Antonio visit. The breakfast was included and it was fabulous. For a fancyu dinner, try the Emily Murphy hotel - fabulous Mac n cheese.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is just lovely. Large rooms with a very vintage feel. This place was just perfect for my husband and I. Very clean and tidy. The staff was super sweet. Complimentary cookies, wine and breakfast daily. No complaints here. We will definitely be coming back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverwalk Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk Vista

Address: 262 Losoya St., San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverwalk Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riverwalk Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwalk Vista San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverwalk Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.