We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverwalk Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riverwalk Vista to your Saves list
Riverwalk Vista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   262 Losoya St., San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Vista the same night the Spurs beat Miami in game 3 of the playoffs....Even though we are from Florida it was fun to view the revelers parading around the square just below our room.

If you like historic hotels you will love this one. Rooms were beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good.
Only inconvenience was parking...had to park across the street a block away. Yet, everything we wanted to see and do was within walking/ busing distance.
Close to the Alamo which was nice too.
Since you are right by Riverwalk you have easy access to all the restaurants and bars. It was fun to see the Spur fans who rented a boat, decorated it in San Antonio colors and parade down the river.
Best restaurant was Saltgrass...had a wonderful steak while sitting at the bar...good drinks too.
Disappointed in Acenar restaurant...ordered snapper and was served tilapia. I think they tried to sneak it past me...we complained and left...went to a Mexican restaurant down the way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    85
    22
    9
    8
See reviews for
21
206
26
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We loved this little hotel. 1 Block from the Alamo and right on the Riverwalk this was a great location for our San Antonio visit. The breakfast was included and it was fabulous. For a fancyu dinner, try the Emily Murphy hotel - fabulous Mac n cheese.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is just lovely. Large rooms with a very vintage feel. This place was just perfect for my husband and I. Very clean and tidy. The staff was super sweet. Complimentary cookies, wine and breakfast daily. No complaints here. We will definitely be coming back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Riverwalk Vista. From the moment we walked into the 1880's renovated building and looked up to the 12 foot ceilings, antique quilts hanging on the walls, and the ceiling height original windows themselves, we knew we picked the right hotel for us. Located in the middle of the Riverwalk district right across from the Commerce Street entrance, it's a short walk to the Alamo and right next to some fun restaurants and bars. Every morning we had a hearty breakfast including a hot entree, fruit, scones, cereals, etc and 24 hour coffee, tea, and filtered water. In the evenings we had a freshly baked cookie and a glass of wine, which was a nice start to an evening walking along the Riverwalk or other downtown spots. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about local restaurants as well. The hotel has only 17 rooms, which makes it nice and quiet...on the inside. Unfortunately, being right in the middle of things, there was traffic noise that even the plexiglass lined windows could not keep out. There was a white noise machine in our room that masked most of it so sleeping was not a problem, especially since the beds are very comfy..and the bathroom has a nice slate tiled walk-in shower and granite topped vanity. We did not have a car so I can't report about the offsite parking, which others have mentioned. If we visit San Antonio again we will definitely stay at the Riverwalk Vista.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We've never stayed in another hotel like this. Renovated from an older building in absolutely the best location downtown. It is directly between the Alamo and the river walk. Rooms are beautiful, staff is very nice, and the breakfast is far better than most hotels. Was a terrific home base for us to explore San Antonio from.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a Great Hotel right in the center of downtown San Antonia. People can not just walk in. You are given a code for entry. Rooms have Queen beds, fridge with complimentary bottles of water, bathrobes, hairdryer, iron and board and a safe. There is a Journal on the desk that they ask guests to leave comments in. Old historic charm and the staff are very personable. Parking is in a garage less than 1/2 a block away for $12 a day. Continental Breakfast, afternoon cookies and evening glass of wine are served. McDonalds is on the first floor and the Hotel takes the 2nd and 3rd floor. We were there for the 4th of July and we had front row seats from our room #307 to view the Fireworks.. It was amazing! It was a madhouse on the streets below us. Walk across the street and you are on the Riverwalk. Great restaurants and Bars. We walked to all the major attractions from here. Market Square, Alamo, Cathedral and many others. I am posting a few pics with this review. You will not be disappointed if you stay here! I PROMISE......

Room Tip: 3rd floor has great views and not so much street noise. And if your there for the 4th of July, room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is right in the middle of things to access The Riverwalk and is a five minute walk to The Alamo and the downtown area of San Antonio. The staff were very helpful and friendly. There is parking close by in a public secure parking lot which costs $12 a day and you can see the lot from the hotel. The hotel is across the road from the Riverwalk and has easy access to many restaurants. The negatives, which are not the hotel's fault are that there is a McDonalds below the hotel and they have music piped into their restaurant which on one night of our stay was still going at midnight. The night manager contacted McDonalds and it was turned off but it was back on on both mornings we stayed at 5am. There was a couple of occasions that we had to negotiate through groups of teenagers sitting on the entry steps to the hotel as it is next door to McDonalds but again this is not the fault of the hotel but something to note. Wi-Fi was included and worked fine in our room. The include breakfast was very nice and featured home made items as were the afternoon cookies and also wine for guests. We would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverwalk Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk Vista

Address: 262 Losoya St., San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverwalk Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riverwalk Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwalk Vista San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverwalk Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.