We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn to your Saves list
Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   307 Beauregard Street, San Antonio, TX 78204 (Arsenal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 47 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Carthage, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Deborah and her staff are warm and welcoming, and her home is lovely. Eva's is part of the King William Historic District, and the house is over one-hundred years old. We stayed in "Lily" which was the downstairs room; WiFi and Netflix were available at no charge. The bath is quite European (toilet and small shower), but it may not be the best choice for those who are accustomed to a tub or to a shower seat. The basin is located in the bedroom proper. After check-in we were told that it was difficult to secure reservations in the rooms that had larger baths which were upstairs.There is a step-stool for access to the high-king half-tester bed (if you are petite). The menu for breakfast is set with consideration for those with food allergies. Our schedule allowed us to eat the day that the menu listed red velvet pancakes, fresh fruit, turkey sausage, juice, coffee, and tea. If other options were available, we were not aware of it. Wine, cheese, tea, coffee, and sweets were available in the afternoons. Two ladies traveling felt quite safe at Eva's.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs may have larger bath areas and may be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Guest- Thank you so much for your kind words, and for taking your time to let us know how we are doing! We strive to provide excellent accommodations, while maintaining a warm and hospitable atmosphere. We are glad to hear you and your party enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    14
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
101
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Fabulous location in a wonderful and very interesting part of San Antonio. Easy to walk to the downtown area. The innkeeper and her help were friendly and very hospitable. An all around lovely experience. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Amy- Thank you so much for your kind words! Our goal is to ensure each guest has a great experience. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Eva's was truly an Escape. This beautiful B&B is charming and the decor lovely. Right in the heart of the River Walk - you couldn't ask for more private retreat. They thought of everything! Deborah and her staff are a delight. Gracious in every way and excellent in the kitchen. We felt so welcomed and left relaxed. We would highly recommend this GEM to anyone visiting San Antonio!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. It brings a smile to our face to hear about the positive experiences our out of town guests have at our B&B. We truly appreciate your future recommendations and we hope you stay with us the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

A beautiful and comfortable house that was warm and inviting. We loved the food, loved the décor, were delighted with the hostess, and enjoyed the entire stay. Although San Antonio is an excellent place to visit, Eva's made our Christmas trip very special and relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Mary,
Thank you very much for your remarks. You honored us with your presence this Christmas holiday. We pride ourselves on offering a “simply elegant” environment with southern hospitality. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again the next time you are in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is just the greatest B&B in the area! I stayed here with two others in the Dessert Blossom Suite for two nights during the AACR conference at the Convention Center. Not only are the pictures totally an accurate depiction of the room, but it is so convenient of a walk to the convention center! And its cheaper that many of the big corporate hotels right next to the convention center.

This was truly a place to relax and unwind. Every little detail was thought of and provided for us! There were 3 robes and 3 sets of towels put in the suite and they were so warm and welcoming. They really do think of every little detail. They offer complimentary cable and netflix in every room. They told us that you had to have popcorn if you were watching a movie, so on the second floor they have a mini fridge and little cabinet with popcorn and drinks! It's the little touches that really separate this B&B not only from big hotels, but from many other B&Bs I have stayed at before.


One of us had a gluten allergy and they made sure to make a breakfast that was gluten free! They also have a homebaked snack (along with an assortment of wine/drinks) every afternoon and they took great care to make sure this was gluten-free too! I should also mention that their breakfast food is absolutely wonderful! Deborah and everyone else there are so genuine and friendly and really care so much about each guest. (Thank you so much Deborah!! We hope to see you soon!!)

Not only was this B&B everything I was hoping for, it was better! You definitely get your money's worth and more.

I should note that you can hear a train in the distance at night, but in my personal opinion it wasn't very loud and didn't bother me.

Also-- this place was immaculate. Everything was clean and professional and cozy.

Room Tip: The pictures and descriptions posted on their website are very accurate so just look at that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Heather,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. We love reading reviews like the one you've written. We work extremely hard to make sure our B&B is a perfect fit for all of our guests. We truly appreciate the honest, in-depth review that you've written. We pride ourselves on making sure we provide the best B&B in the San Antonio area by accommodating all of guests with whatever their needs may be. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Happy Holidays to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxemburg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We visited our son who lives in San Antonio.It was our first time in Texas.We stayed 6 nights in the Bluebonnet Room. We were picked up at the airport by a sedan, which was set up by Debra the owner of Eva's Escape. The driver was waiting for us when we arrived at the airport, he was holding a sign with our name, welcoming us. It was really neat. Eva's Escape is located in the King William District, which was perfect to walk and get on the River Walk. We walked every where. We walked to the Alamo, toured some of the mansions in the King William District, the Pioneer Flour Mill, just to mention a few things we did. Debra and her staff went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. Debra went out of her way to accommodate my dietary needs. The little extras, the treats in the afternoon and the wine every night. I have never been any where that the people are so friendly. We will be back. I loved San Antonio. Thanks again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah O, Owner at Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review and for sending us a bit of Wisconsin! We truly appreciate hearing about the positive experiences from our satisfied guests’. We always aim to go above and beyond our guests’ expectations to ensure that enjoy their stay with us. We look forward to having you stay again with us in the future! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxemburg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had a terrific vacation and some quality time visiting our son in San Antonio where lives. We stayed at Eva 's Escape located in the King William District. We have stayed at B&B's before and this ranks right up at the top with Best. The location was perfect, we were able to walk and get on the River Walk close to where we were staying. Our accommodations were top notch we were in the Blue Bonnet Room. Breakfast each morning was amazing, even with my dietary request it was outstanding. Debra and her staff made us feel right at home. I would recommend Eva's Escape to at. Thank you again for your hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn

Address: 307 Beauregard Street, San Antonio, TX 78204
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simply elegant Bed and Breakfast located in the famous King William Historic District. The inn is two blocks from the Riverwalk, within walking distance to almost everything and a trolley stop around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.