We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Valencia Riverwalk to your Saves list
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Pleasant stay, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Overall, we had a great stay. My kids loved the room.

Valet service was great, lots of friendly staff ready to meet your needs. The bell hop delivered our luggage while we checked in, very convenient! The room was nice (two beds) but my only complaint would be the drawer space. There was a 3'x4' closet and only two inlaid drawers below the room safe, not counting the bedside drawer. The room had a nice long countertop/shelf that was very useful but the space underneath was empty. Perhaps the management should consider adding more drawer space there. Breakfast at the Citrus was great, they have a buffet with lots of options. My kids loved room service as well.

Great location! Away from the main Riverwalk activities but close enough to get there (about one block away). There is a drugstore (Walgreen Drugs) a block away on Houston (to the right as you exit the main hotel entrance), along with two coffee houses (Starbucks and "Sip"). On Houston there several dining options as well.

I would definitely consider staying here next time in San Antonio.

Room Tip: If you don't like overstuffed pillows consider packing your own. The bed and linens were in goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Mike L,

It was great to have you as a guest at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful survey and share your experience with others. It means everything to us to see you enjoyed your stay.

Please let know the next time you plan on visiting San Antonio. We would love to have you return to the hotel.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    335
    147
    96
    53
See reviews for
203
671
49
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The person who posted the comment about the wifi below was correct, and even got a response from management. But,I'm staying at the hotel right now and the wifi is either not working, and when it does is super slow. I've called three times and in all instances I've been told they don't know of any problem. I will not stay here again, and will not recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Jose V,

We really appreciate you staying with us and appreciate your feedback. We understand that effective, consistent Wi-Fi is an essential when traveling and we apologize for the poor experience.

We are in the process of upgrading, as you saw from my response to the previous guest with the same issue. We have received the new equipment for the install and are just awaiting the install date from the service provider. We look forward to having this up and running ASAP.

We hope to see you return to the hotel in the near future and get your feedback on the upgrade. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance until then.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Delighted with our stay on March 16-18. Staff recovered nicely from Spring Break/SXSW festival held in nearby Austin last week. Our room was even ready for an hour early check in on a Sunday. Nicely done and much appreciated. Five stars for the attention to small details and in room amenities. Genuinely friendly folks, as we have come to expect everywhere in San Antonio where hospitality is an ingrained cultural value. We WILL do it again. Soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. A limited number are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Rick S,

The 5-star review means a lot to us. We are glad to see you enjoyed your experience. It is easier to run a successful hotel when you fill it with people engrained with Texas hospitality. Thank you for taking the time to mention the associates.

We look forward to doing it all over again the next time you make it up to San Antonio. Please reach out to us if we can be an any assistance whatsoever.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Enjoyed a quick trip to the Valencia and was very happy with property. Fantastic location right on the river, with friendly staff and good dining options right on property. Comfortable, clean and stylish rooms, that could be a bit quieter, if your on the river side. Overall, very satisfied and would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Drinkwater11,

The pleasant review is greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with others. Your mention of the staff means a lot to all of us..

We look forward to seeing you again when you return. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance until then.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I did less walking from this property with more options to venture to located just in quiet end of the River and offers full Riverwalk access by way of a few steps in back of hotel bringing you to everything including the water taxi. You do have to pay for parking BUT I would highly recommend you park for Valet instead of parking it yourself across the street then walking late at night. The Valet will bring your car upfront in minutes. Try it and see OR you can choose to pay other hotels and be inconvenience thereafter!

Room Tip: Request the inner side and not the city street side for a peaceful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Mr B,

We really appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to write such a great 5-star review. We also appreciate the recommendations on the valet. We tend to agree.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you make if over from Houston. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance until then.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The rooms are nice and comfortable. Hotel is at a great location. However, we were not allowed to check in until 7:30 pm. The rooms had not been cleaned and were not ready. The next day, the rooms were not cleaned until after 6:30 pm.
The staff at the front desk have absolutely no concept of customer service. They acted like this was just normal and were not apologetic. They were not friendly. They appeared to be young and inexperienced in the hotel business. For the price that you pay for this hotel, you should receive better service. Hotel needs to invest in training the employees better in customer service.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Dallmlm,

I appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk on your recent trip to San Antonio. It is disappointing to see you had a poor experience with your check in. I sincerely apologize for the lapse in service. This is not routine for us and in no way something you should expect. With both the delayed check in, as well as the lack of empathy from our Front Desk, we have addressed these issues, and the factors that allowed them to happen. I assure you we will improve our consistency in service moving forward as a result of your feedback.

Every aspect of your stay is important to us. Getting into your room in a timely manner, after traveling all day, is the least of what you should be able to expect. Moreover, a staff that is empathetic to the situation. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience. I would hate for this to be your lasting impression of the service we provide. Please contact me if there is anything I can do to help restore your confidence in us.

Thank you,

Trent

tfreeman@valenciagroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We loved this place! It was very nice and the staff very attentive. We had breakfast at the restaurant downstairs and were not disappointed. We loved the area and beautiful surroundings. We plan on returning!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear froggy4ou,

We really appreciate the 5-star review and your mention of the staff. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay.

Hopefully we have the opportunity to do it again the next time you make it down from Oklahoma. Let us know if we can be of any assistance until then.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the historic San Antonio River Walk, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in San Antonio located in the heart of downtown. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo and other downtown attractions and only a short drive to Sea World, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Vbar and dine in the acclaimed Citrus Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary high speed internet and newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.