We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and modern hotel on the Riverwalk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Valencia Riverwalk to your Saves list
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2 Nights|3rd is FREE
Ranked #6 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful and modern hotel on the Riverwalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hotel Valencia is a gorgeous hotel that makes a great first impression. From the dramatic lobby and the sleek and modern decor to the comfort of the rooms it was all great. The location is in a great spot of the Riverwalk, just far enough away from he loud areas and with convenient shops around the corner (Starbucks, bagel shop etc).

We did not use the valet services as they are quite expensive but that was typical for all the hotels on the Riverwalk. There are a couple of overnight parking lots one block away that are much cheaper and just as convenient.

I would definitely stay there again if I visit San Antonio.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear DanielaFuller,

We are glad to see you enjoyed your visit. It's great to see you appreciated the décor and the location. Hopefully your travels bring you back to San Antonio and you have the opportunity to stay with us again. Just let us know if we can be of any assistance.

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    299
    123
    96
    46
See reviews for
169
598
42
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Staff was very friendly, great location for Riverwalk, Playhouse, Alamo and lots of high-quality dining. Room was spacious, bed was very comfortable, restaurant is excellent bartender was good and helpful to guests needing recommendations, courtyard is cozy and fun. Overall a great value! Highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are are a great chioce
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Tom E,

We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with others online. The positive comments are great to see, especially your recognition of our staff. We hope to see you again the next time you are in San Antonio.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Great ambience
Super location on the river
Valet service worked for us and made it easy to drop off our car and go
Nice bar scene with great outdoor seating
Great fireplace
Right on the riverwalk within walking distance of great bars and restaurants

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear jt11647,

It's great to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the 5-star review and sharing your comments with others.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The bar for exceptional service was set very high during my first stay at Hotel Valencia River Walk. Returning one year later, I felt somewhat leery and reluctant that service would be substandard. To my surprise, I was wrong. The service was stellar and the standards, property and staff did not disappoint. In fact, as a Valencia VIP Member, I was upgraded to a courtyard room with a complementary libation nicely chilled in my room upon arrival. The French Doors to my room opened to the courtyard which enabled me to walk directly onto the courtyard where I could sit in front of the water wall (with a nice intimate fire at night).

I tend to be a very picky traveler with a sharp and critical eye for detail. As such, I found absolutely no problems and will return to Hotel Valencia the next time I visit San Antonio.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Kirk N.,

We really appreciate you staying with us again and ecstatic to see you lived up to your expectations the second time around. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.

We look forward to having you back and raising the bar again.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

First impression was that the hotel is very, very dark inside. The lighting is so low! Maybe that is supposed to make it more romantic. Or maybe it is to cover up things that aren't well maintained, I don't know. The room was dark too. Very modern. That's fine if you like modern, but we don't. The bed was fine, that was one positive. The room was extremely noisy. We could hear the people talking next door. Could even hear what they were saying. The hallway noise was atrocious. The ice machine was near our room and that made a horrible racket when others used it. There was no fan in the bathroom to keep the mirror from fogging up. The chair in the room was so deep to sit in, that I had to put several pillow behind my back. It was on the end of the Riverwalk, which was fine, but for the street view that we had, it might have been better to pay less and walk a block or two. One more thing--the check in was quite disconcerting. The employee kept frowning and frowning and had to ask another employee about whatever she was seeing on the computer about our reservation. No explanation was given, so we did not feel welcome from the start.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear garliclovers,

We appreciate you staying with us at the Hotel Valencia Riverwalk. Your experience is important to us and it is so disappointing to see you had such a poor stay. We sincerely apologize for the shortcomings and assure you we will take your comments and improve on every point you mention.

We hope that overall your trip to San Antonio was positive and that you will have to opportunity to visit again. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance whatsoever.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Loved it. Staff was friendly, super clean and comfortable hotel at a great location. The only minus: breakfast service was horrible. However, there are plenty of other options to eat breakfast around the hotel, so I gave the hotel 5 stars!!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, I got a free upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Danella23,

We are so glad to see you had a 5-star experience with us and that you have shared it with others. It is however disappointing to see you didn't have a good experience in the restaurant. It should be performing on the same level and I will follow up to ensure it is.

We look forward to seeing you in the hotel again when your travels bring you back to San Antonio.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Nice room, good linens, good beds, big flatscreeen tv. River runs adjacent to hotel but the "Riverwalk" is really a couple of blocks. Check what is playing at Majestic Theater if you book here. It is only a 1/2 block down the street and is spectacular inside and has big acts and shows. Valet parking was $29, but worked well, A bargain for quality and location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear huckcummings,

We really appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to post such a great review. It means a lot to us to see you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully your travels bring you back to San Antonio and we have the opportunity to see you in the hotel again.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the historic San Antonio River Walk, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in San Antonio located in the heart of downtown. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo and other downtown attractions and only a short drive to Sea World, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Vbar and dine in the acclaimed Citrus Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary high speed internet and newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Venere, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.