We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, however be leery of valet parking!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Hotel Valencia Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2 Nights|3rd is FREE
Ranked #24 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great staff, however be leery of valet parking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time staying here. Friendly staff, great service. However, we used the valet service this time around for our car and it came back the next day with a big scratch on the passenger door! I know they parked it a few blocks away, so who knows what happened. I guess that's the chance you take. Other than that, it was a nice, short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear jcmama,

We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to complete the review. It's disappointing to see you had an issue with your car during your stay. I understand you spoke with our valet manager regarding the issue and I hope it was handled to your satisfaction. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    648
    265
    113
    89
    45
See reviews for
133
493
39
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Loved this hotel! Fun and romantic! We don't normally stay at hotels like this. It was an anniversary stay. The hotel captivated us upon arrival. Great atmosphere, clean, beautiful décor, great location. We had a great night sleep. Very comfortable and quiet. It has beautiful fountains one in the entry way; the other in a beautiful court yard which would be great for just relaxing. Staff was very helpful whenever we needed anything or had any questions/ concerns. They go over and above to try to help you with your needs.The only thing I didn't like was that there is no parking at the hotel unless you do valet. There are pay lots a couple blocks from the hotel. We would stay here again if we had the opportunity.

We have young children (who weren't with us), but I would not be comfortable staying there with them. The room would be fine and safe for them, but there are fountains, candles on the walls and other things they could get into outside of the room. Great couple place!

Room Tip: Room 1017 is great and has two views of the Riverwalk. It is a corner room. It was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear JessRoseAdvice,

Great review! Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with others. Positive recognition like yours means everything to us.

We hope you do have the opportunity to visit again. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice, very clean, great atmosphere, friendly staff, great staff, perfect location, really good value...what more could you ask.

Absolutely nothing negative to say about our stay...we likely wouldnt even consider other locations when we return to San Antonio.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 824 - room overlooked courtyard. Not much of a view but didnt pay for one either. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Steve K.,

The 5-star review is greatly appreciated. We are really happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you!

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

From the moment we checked in we fell in love. We usually go out of state for our anniversary trips but this year due to other circumstances we chose to stay in Texas. This Hotel is amazing. It can go toe to toe to the Ritz or Four Seasons. They upgraded our room to riverside and also had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in our room. This was a fantastic way to start our mimi getaway. We have a small child and this was one of our only times to get away and spend some quality time together to celebrate our anniversary. The staff was very helpful and very friendly. Room service is very reasonable. we ordered wings and a burger late night because they have 24 hour room service and it was plenty of food for a very reasonable price. The rooms are very cozy and romantic. The lobby is very majestic. The feel to the hotel is great and it is centrally located to just about everything. We even took a horse carriage ride around the downtown area. This trip was truly magical and so much more than I could have ever expected. Don't hesitate to book this hotel. It truly is a gem. we will be definitely coming back and have already reccomended the hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: River side was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Xoxosunflower,

We are glad you chose us for such an important occasion as your anniversary and we are proud to be a positive part of it. The glowing 5-star review is very much appreciated by all of us. Thank you for spreading the word.

We'll look forward to your return visit and hope you will let us know if we can be of any assistance in the mean time.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We checked in around midnight. The gentleman checking us in was very pleasant. Our room was more than we imagined. Room 1017 was a wonderful room. We had a corner room that had a view of the riverwalk. I am a very light sleeper and did not hear any noise. Housekeeping was great. The bellman were very helpful each day. We ate at Citrus for a romantic dinner. We ordered room service once and it came within 45 minutes and was a nice meal . I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again and I would highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Request room 1017. It is very spacious, quiet and has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear angelaernie,

We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your 5-star experience with others. It is great to see you had an enjoyable stay.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Valencia Riverwalk a couple of weeks ago on a business trip and it was a delight. The rooms are large, spacious and very modern giving the feel of a boutique hotel. The same applies to the bar and restaurant areas and a major plus point is that hotel is situated immediately on the riverwalk itself.

My only criticism would be the very noisy waterfall in the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony overlooking the river - very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Theboarderboy,

It means a lot to us to see you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the 4-star review.

Thank you!

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Valencia the first week in July and then came back 7 days later. We love San Antonio and the Valencia. We are from Louisiana and generally arrive later than most normal guests due to a pretty extensive drive. Late check in was not a problem. The decore and feel of the hotel are very modern. The rooms are nice, nothing over the top but far better than most other places on the riverwalk. The beds are very comfy and the bathrooms are very clean. The Citrus is a great place to dine for both breakfast and dinner the food is great. The V-Bar is also a very nice touch and very nice in comparison to other hotel bars. Overall for the location and value and food and staff the Hotel Valencia is my families home away from home when we visit San Antonio.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Frowdawg17,

Thank you for staying with us and completing the 5-star review. We are glad to see you enjoyed Citrus and V-bar as well. We hope to see you again the next time you make it over from Louisiana.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#24 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#36 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the historic San Antonio River Walk, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in San Antonio located in the heart of downtown. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo and other downtown attractions and only a short drive to Sea World, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Vbar and dine in the acclaimed Citrus Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary high speed internet and newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.