We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ups and Downs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5535 University Heights Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78249 (Northwest Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #55 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Pearland, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ups and Downs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were here 2 nights on a family vacation. Overall this was just an OK visit. While I won't go out of my way to go here again, neither is it a place I would warn people away from:

The good:
- Location, location, location. 5 minutes from Fiesta TX, IMAX theater, and La Cantera mall, even at rush hour.
- Friendly staff
- Clean.
- Slightly upscale decor
- Beds comfortable, if a bit small for 2.
- Reasonably priced given the area
- Mini-fridge, tea/coffee maker, microwave are useful for a family

The bad:
- Very noisy. You hear the neighbors, and REALLY hear anything happening in the hall (which it was). Walls make very noisy pipe sounds if the upstairs neighbors happen to use the plumbing.
- Despite having only one person in front of me, it must have taken 15 minutes to check in on an existing reservation. The phones were going the whole time. Otherwise it didn't seem all that busy.
- After going out the first day at about 9 am, we came back at about 5 pm, and the room wasn't cleaned yet. The maid finished the room next-door and showed up at about 5:15. We said we were going out in a few minutes, and could she come back in just a few minutes. She said she'd do the room next-door first. We came back at about 10pm after seeing a movie, and still not cleaned. Not a disaster, but not convenient either.
- Room was booked for a family of 4 with 2 beds, but only 2 of everything in the room on arrival.
- Of course, no breakfast provided, since this isn't in the 'express' series. We knew this going in, but for the price, I would have expected something to recommend it over an 'express' motel. Pay more, get less...
- Slow internet.
- There is a pool, but it is very small and outdoors, the hot tub wasn't, and the pool view is of a Sam's club parking lot.

I realize reading this that it sounds like it should be worse than a 3, but it really isn't. It is a decent family friendly hotel despite my complaints. Location is quite good :^)

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor. Noise !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Steve4242,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am glad that you liked our location and found the staff friendly. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the overall dissatisfaction you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
6
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Can't say enough good things about the room - king size bed, sofa and lots of room. Very clean and all the extra's. Restaurants close by didn't open for breakfast so we tried the restaurant in the hotel - poor service and awful food. Only one waitress on duty but there were only 2 other people in the room other than my husband and I. We waited quite awhile before she arrived to take our order. Very simple - one hot tea, one decaf coffee and two breakfasts - eggs over easy, breakfast potatoes, bacon and brown toast. We waited a really long time before we got our drinks. One mug of coffee, one mug that was 3/4 full of hot water and a tea bag - nothing else. I asked if they didn't have a tea pot and she said it was easier to bring the mug. I opened the tea bag envelope it came in so I could at least put the tea bag down on something after it had steeped. After about 5 minutes we watched as she carried a tray of food and drinks over to the elevator to deliver breakfast to a room. We waited again for quiet a long time. Finally breakfast arrived. The eggs had a brown greasy film on them, the bacon was so overcooked and hard you could not even begin to eat it. We were asked if we wanted jam for the toast - and we got it, one little packet of grape jelly and one packet of butter each. We carefully divided the jelly into 4 equal pieces to spread over the 4 half slices of toast. When the food was delivered I asked for my second mug of hot water, and I must admit she brought me a second tea bag which was very nice. Food was not worth the price and it took an hour for breakfast. They really need to improve service and quality of their restaurant or they might as well not have one. It was not very busy so I think people try it once and don't go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear c0untrygal,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room the room and cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the restaurant experience and service which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a great hotel in a good location. Rooms were clean and staff was friendly. Beds were comfortable. The kitchenette comes in very handy. There is a Wal-Mart next door for getting drinks and late night snacks to keep in the room. The location is great convenient to downtown and theme parks. This was our second stay and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: 2 room suites are fabulous for family of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth,tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked two nights here (two adults, two tweens) to visit family. The room is very nice, and the staff was very nice and helpful. The beds were very soft and the pillows are super fluffy. The room and bathroom were very clean. However, there were not enough towels for 4 people, and two of the ones we had had a hair stuck in them. Yuck.

There was a mini-fridge, microwave, and a coffee maker in the room which really helps keep food costs down. The flat screen TV was nice and there were many channels to choose from. The shower was awesome, very spacious and really good water pressure.

Kids eat breakfast for free in the in-house restaurant. It's very small, but it works for the size of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was really not great. There were several choices of hot and cold items, though, so it was decent for the price, but we probably would not eat there if they kids weren't free. You have to get a voucher from the front desk for each child for each night of your stay.

The only other complaint I have is the noise from the room doors. Unless you catch it, the door will SLAM shut every time it opens, and it's enough to shake the walls in every room around you. We had a serious problem with the people next to us who were coming in and out literally all night long the first night. The front desk tried to be helpful, but there's only so much they can do. Luckily we were told they were checking out that next morning, so the next night was much better.

Overall, this was a nice stay. I would stay here again, but be sure to check every towel before you use it!

Room Tip: Room 402 is on the end of the building at the far end from the elevators, but it's only a king s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for three nights last week and it was great. We usually stay at The Westin or Aloft, but this is somewhere in between. It is a brand new property so everything was tidy and clean. I love their color and decor schemes. I would definitely stay there again. I love that they offer a choice of pillows (even though I brought my own), the sheets are a teeny bit scratchy...but luckily I had my own blanket as well!
The location is great. Easy access to 10 for business but super easy to La Cantera and The Rim for evenings.
The only issue we had was that our air conditioner made a whining noise each time as it cycled off. However, we were too beat each evening to call the front desk. I am sure if we had, it could have been resolved.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor away from the elevator so it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We are longtime visitors to San Antonio since we have family there. This time we opted to stay in a hotel, and selected this one based on reviews, location and price. It absolutely did not disappoint!

The bathtub was bright white, sparkling clean and shiny...just the way I like it! The furniture is versatile and easy to move. We stayed with our two children, and felt like we had plenty of space. We appreciated the large minifridge and microwave. The internetwas fast and weasy to use.

We planned to eat offsite for breakfast, but after consulting the menu for the restaurant, we decided to eat there. It was delicious and a good value, with very friendly helpful service. We will definitely recommend this location if our family ever needs to put guests up for a stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hotel staff outstanding! (Especially the bartenders!)
Great food, VERY fast and reliable internet, super clean rooms, and great workout facilities!
I stop in San Antonio on business about once a month, won't stay anywhere else. Great price for all the extras....quiet location but close to lots of restaurants and shopping if you need it. Thanks Holiday Inn...as always the BEST!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest

Address: 5535 University Heights Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78249
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest. Discover all that San Antonio has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest near UTSA. At our hotel, you will find modern luxury and contemporary southern hospitality. The Holiday Inn & Suites San Antonio near Six Flags is located at the heart of shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts in the Northwest corridor of San Antonio. We are located minutes from Six Flags Fiesta Texas, The Shops at La Cantera, The Rim Outdoor Mall, La Cantera Golf Resort, UTSA, USAA, Medical Center, Valero, KCI, NuStar, FBI Regional Offices, and many more. Getting here is fast and convenient too. Out Hotel boasts easy access to IH-10, Hwy 1604, Loop 410 and IH-35. We are about 10 miles north of the San Antonio International Airport, Downtown San Antonio and the Riverwalk. Whether you are coming to San Antonio for business or just for fun, your room at the Holiday Inn & Suites San Antonio near UTSA is your personal retreat. With amenities such as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet Access, outdoor Pool and Hot-Tub and Kem's, our full service restaurant and bar; you'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.