We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the usual HIE experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   102 El Paso Street, San Antonio, TX 78204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #155 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
257 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Not the usual HIE experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Sure the breakfast was the same. The lobby looked familar, but the rooms were different. The rooms are done in dark colors....loooked old though not woren. The window leaks like a crazy. Had high winds when I stayed and the window just howled all night. My room was on the front of the hotel and is quite noisy with the window. The room just seemed aged. The bed was comforatble. Not enough light in room.

Room Tip: Ask for room on back side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to communicate why our service did not meet your expectations. We have every desire to address your needs and provide the best solution available to resolve your issue as soon as possible. Our company aims to consistently deliver a professional service to our customers. We will evaluate how we can prevent this problem from occurring in the future.

Again, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    49
    38
    19
    22
See reviews for
71
34
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Nice, clean, large rooms and generally no complaints about the facilities themselves. Based on previous reviews I asked for a quieter room and ended up getting one of the best nights of sleep of my two-week roadtrip. A slight problem with the wifi connection (try refreshing the page when it says "do not refresh the page" - go figure) was revolved quickly and over the phone.

Overall, a good option if you're looking to save a little money, but it's a bit inconvenient for visiting the main sites. I did walk all the way to the Alamo and back over the course of several hours with several stops along the way (would probably be 20-30 min in one shot), but ended up driving back to the Riverwalk at night and valeting my car at the restaurant ($7). Per the front desk, the streetcar, which I had originally planned on using a lot, was inconvenient because it's only every 20 minutes.

I think if/when I return to San Antonio I'll book a hotel closer to the Riverwalk - the cost would probably end up a wash considering the money you could spend on parking/taxis, plus the added convenience of being right in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We want to thank you for the kind words you said about our hotel. Your thoughts are important to us, but we're especially pleased when the feedback is positive. We'll be sure to share it with the hotel staff. We try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward. The more satisfied customers we have, the more our business will thrive. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Enjoyed our stay for business trip. Nicki and George were great. We needed a shuttle to take us to eat and they had it covered. Their facility is small but has everything we needed, free breakfast was delicious with just the right selections. Everything in the room and hotel worked including the work out room. I only have one suggestion and that is some wipes to wipe down the equipment before and after working out. They even have a small pool and hot tub. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 210-271-1002

We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
C. Albano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NS Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a typical Holiday Inn and was reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and we had a king suite on the third floor. Parking was free and the hotel was only a mile from the River Walk (we drove over). The bed was comfortable, the A/C worked well, lots of hot water. The bathroom was quite small and the bathroom door would not open completely because it hit the toilet! Everything was clean and the hot breakfast was very good. Unfortunately the pool was being cleaned so was closed. The other problem was that the front desk clerk told us that the parking meters around the River Walk were free on the weekend and we ended up with a $34.00 parking ticket! Staff should not give advice unless they are sure of their facts!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback. We strive to ensure every guest has a great experience at Holiday Inn Express Alamo Suites. I will be sure to speak with the staff in regards to parking in and around downtown. I do apologize for any misunderstanding in regards to this parking situation. C. Albano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for three nights in early September late August, the hotel was decent, for the friday and sat night it was fully booked. Breakfast was good on Friday and Sunday , Saturday the front desk staff was workin the kitchen for the breakfast arena and it was bad in terms of no food and not being able to keep up with the number of people in the hotel. The lady who looked after the breakfast on the other two mornings is a tremendous asset to the hotel.
The staff at the front desk was very helpful as well, as the custodian.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We loved our stay at camaron st. holiday inn express. The clerks were great! (good work Jennifer and the night time gentleman) our rooms were clean ...housekeepers very good. and food was wonderful. Breakfast really helped start our days off right, and they were so helpful with directions to the places we were going! I would go back in a heart beat!! (wish we were!)

Room Tip: ask them !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We almost exclusively stay at HIX or HI because of their consistent excellent quality. This hotel was a disappointment, especially for the price of around $137( before fees/taxes). Oh, and I can't believe you had to pay for internet service on top of it. Carpet was dirty and the room was dingy. Bathroom smelled of mold and urine (a little bleach water can go a long way folks!). The hotel feels very old and dated with a lack of upkeep. I was not comfortable there and won't stay there again. There are a lot of other hotels in San Antonio!
On the upside, the staff was friendly and I didn't see any bedbugs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites
#91 of 352 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Do...
#121 of 352 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#167 of 352 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area

Address: 102 El Paso Street, San Antonio, TX 78204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Downtown Market Area welcomes you. Located in the heart of downtown San Antonio, our all suite hotel has recently been renovated and is just a few miles from The Alamo, the downtown market district and the scenic River Walk, offering convenient access to the San Antonio International Airport. Our hotel is perfect for your next San Antonio vacation. This San Antonio hotel in the downtown market district provides easy access to area attractions including Sea World of Texas, the San Antonio Zoo, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and Splashtown Water Park. Many popular shopping destinations are also nearby, such as the Rivercenter Mall, El Mercado Market Square and the North Star Mall. Other area attractions not far from our hotel in San Antonio include the Alamodome, the San Antonio Convention Center and the AT&T Center, home of the San Antonio Spurs.Business travelers will enjoy a stay at our newly renovated hotel in downtown San Antonio due to its close proximity to companies such as Tesoro, Xerox, Washington Mutual, IBC, Toyota and SBC. Our San Antonio hotel is just 15 miles from the San Antonio International Airport.During your stay at our San Antonio hotel, enjoy the 24-hour fitness center, heated, outdoor pool, relaxing whirlpool and complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out the discount rates on our quality San Antonio hotel rooms by the River Walk and start planning your visit today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Holiday Inn San Antonio
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.