We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, but need to work out a few kinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18603 la Cantera Terrace, San Antonio, TX 78256 (Northwest Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Valet Parking
Ranked #37 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very Nice, but need to work out a few kinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The scale of this hotel and its grounds are impressive. The decor and stylish design of the lobby, and more importantly my room, surpassed my expectations. That said, the Sustenio Restaurant had below average food, the gym (housed in what looked to be a large maintenance or storage room) felt like an unimpressive afterthought and the majority of the buildings on the grounds appeared to be vacant (giving the property an empty ghost town feel). One final note, I had spotty internet access and little to no phone signal through most of the property. All in all, I think that these issues could be resolved by hotel management over time if they choose to take them up.

Pros
+ Friendly and Attentive Staff
+ Beautiful lobby and rooms

Cons
- Food (quality and availability)
- Gym
- Internet connection and cell signal

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen_Seymore, Manager at Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Eilan Hotel Resort and Spa. We appreciate your candid comments. Our 6000 square foot fitness center is complete, so we hope you get a chance to utilize all of the offerings upon your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    89
    50
    25
    22
See reviews for
76
154
14
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Eilan opened less than a year ago. It is a lovely property about 20 minutes north of downtown San Antonio. There can be a lot of traffic, so timing is essential if going downtown to attractions or restaurants. I took the family there to celebrate my husband's 75th birthday. It was Spring Break for many schools in Texas and I knew the Riverwalk area in downtown would be very crowded so I avoided booking a hotel there. The Eilan's rooms were spacious and well appointed. We had Premier King with Balcony. The balcony was large with comfortable chairs and overlooked the pool, which was large and had plenty of lounge chairs. The weather was mild enough to enjoy the pool. The staff was courteous and helpful. Unfortunately, the hotel had lost its concierge and had not yet hired another so front desk staff had to handle requests that the concierge normally would. They did the best they could. No complaints.

I worked with the hotel manager, Sustenio Restaurant's manager (reviewed under Restaurants) and food and beverage manager for the Birthday Dinner at the hotel's restaurant, Sustenio. Great cooperation from everyone.

Eilan is very close to The Shops at La Cantera, a large, nice shopping center with several chain restaurants. Fiesta Texas is down the road for families with kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The company I work for hosted an event for about 120 corporate executives. The banquet and event planning staff was fantastic. The hotel is a great looking hotel, the Sustenio Restaurant's menu could be improved. We were not very pleased with the food that was catered for our dinners.

The hotel rooms are great, the beds and linens are fantastic. I was very pleased with my suite. The business center is very resourceful and is available at no cost. The spa was great as well.

The internet and phone signal was a problem throughout the entire hotel. This is concerning whether on business or personal travel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen_Seymore, General Manager at Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing Eilan Hotel Resort and Spa to host your corporate event. We are delighted you enjoyed your suite and the Spa. Appreciate your comments about Sustenio and will work on improving that experience. Look forward to servicing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The entire Eilan property feels removed from every day life, even though it's smack in the middle of everything. But the spa is exceptional. The terrace and relaxation rooms are awesome. The staff is friendly and professional, but not stuffy. The showers are fantastic. I had a facial with Kristen and a massage with Natalie, and both exceeded expectations. I recommend going early and taking a good book so you can take advantage of the steam room and relaxation areas. I'll be back as often as I can afford it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen_Seymore, General Manager at Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing Eilan Hotel Resort and Spa as your Spa getaway destination. We will share your nice comments with the staff. Hope to have you as one of our many return guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed a weekend there. They gave me a nice room overlooking the pool. Big and nice. I had spa service and I enjoyed.
My phone and iPad they did not have strong signal in the room. When I checked out I reported that and they removed from my bill the resort fee. It was kind from them to offer this since I couldn't work from my room using my iPad. The bar had nice cocktails but the menu over the bar is limited. I am waiting for this resort to expand services to retail stores inside the village they created and have a selection of bars , restaurants and coffee shops. I missed this time the morning coffee pot in the lobby areA. They have to put it back since you have to drive to find a cup of coffee .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen_Seymore, General Manager at Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing Eilan Hotel Resort and Spa as your weekend getaway destination. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. Hope to see you enjoy all we have to offer in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We first stayed at the Eilan after it first opened. We did not have a good stay!!! So was contacted by Ellen the Gm. Was invited back to experience the resort again. We accepted the invite and took the trip back to San Antonio on my partners birthday weekend March 1st 2013. Hotel was busier and staff much more attentive. We chose a King Suite, very very nice!!! We also decided to checkout the Spa. Let me tell you was a wonderful relaxing experience. John Pierre is great!! To cold that weekend to enjoy the outside resort type pool, but they have an indoor pool and hot tub. Look we have been to our share of hotels all over the world in our 20yrs together, no matter how nice they are everyone of them have their faults. WE GAVE THEM A SECOND CHANCE BECAUSE THEY ASKED AND SEEMED TO CARE THAT WE WERE HAPPY? WE LEFT THIS TIME VERY HAPPY!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen_Seymore, General Manager at Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you again at the Eilan Hotel Resort and Spa. We are delighted to here you enjoyed a special birthday celebration. Look forward to having you as a return guest for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My sister and I had the most memorable weekend stay. The hotel property was beautiful, and we were instantly made to feel welcome by the GM Ellen, and Asst. Front Office Mgr. Lucas. Both were thoughtful and attentive. But the real treat was found at The Spa. It is run exquisitely by Mgr. Lucy, who has chosen the greatest front desk staff of Jasmine and Larissa. If you are truly fortunate, Jean Pierre will give you a massage for the ages. Or any of the other masseuses will let you know that this spa is not like any other. You must give it a try - you won't be disappointed. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Spa room is tranquil and serene with an amazing shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen_Seymore, General Manager at Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing Eilan Hotel Resort and Spa as your girls getaway!! We are delighted you enjoyed the spa and look forward to welcoming you back for more pampering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: 18603 la Cantera Terrace, San Antonio, TX 78256
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in La Cantera with picturesque views of Texas Hill Country, Eilan Hotel & Spa is San Antonio's finest luxury hotel. With the intimate feel of a boutique hotel, and the grandeur of Autograph Collection by Marriott, Eilan is ideal for both business and pleasure. The 20,000 sq. Ft. Of elegant space accommodates small meetings to large receptions. Sustenio, the onsite restaurant is focused on serving local and sustainable resources. Experience the fresh Ceviche bar, or sample it all with the 6 course-tasting menu. Relax and rejuvenate in the spa offering lavish treatments including Swedish massage, facials, and manicure-pedicures. Our state of the art fitness center will help you stay fit while away from home. Perfect your swing in the golf simulation room and be sure to lounge by our Texas' number 1 rated pool. End your evening in a luxurious guest room complete with floor to ceiling windows and marble bathroom vanities. Come stay with us and experience the luxury and beauty of San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.